Welcome to the 2023-2024 academic year at SARUP.

This fall we welcomed over 750 new and returning architecture and planning students to SARUP. I am honored to serve as the acting inaugural Head of School of SARUP and look forward to an amazing year. We welcome new architecture faculty Palmyra Geraki, Sergio Lopez Pineiro, and Sam Schuermann as Assistant Professors and Andy Lee as Architecture Fellow in the Department of Architecture. We also welcome Krisann Rehbein as the new Director of Community Design Solutions and thank Carolyn Esswein for her 11 years as Director of Community Design Solutions and the outstanding commitment to design she has fostered throughout Wisconsin. Carolyn will move fully into her role as Associate Professor and Co-Chair of the Department of Urban Planning.

This year we look forward to an outstanding class of incoming Master’s of Urban Planning, Bachelor of Science in Architecture, Master’s of Architecture, PhD in Architecture, and inaugural Bachelor of Architecture students. Our programs are well positioned for continued growth and investment in the design and planning of our built environment.

My primary goal for this academic year is to continue building on our strong enrollments and stable financial footing with updates to our curriculum and the formation of new industry partnerships. A key example of this is our new and continuing partnerships in our studios such as the Rinka Comprehensive Design studio and Kahler Slater Design studio, both partnerships that will foster an intimate connection between these world class architecture firms and our students. Additional sponsored studios include the Wells Precast Concrete studio, Living Well studio, Chipstone studio, Gladding McBean studio, and the ACSA Studio Prize won by Lindsey Krug and former fellow Sarah Aziz. With over 150 courses offered in Architecture and Urban Planning over the next academic year, our students will receive a comprehensive and diverse education second to none.

Thank you for being part of the SARUP learning community.

Acting Head of School
Kyle Reynolds