In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning offers the 2-year Master of Architecture degree for students with a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture and the 3-year Master of Architecture degree for students with an undergraduate degree in a discipline other than architecture.

2-year Master of Architecture Degree (preprofessional degree + 60 graduate credits)

3-year Master of Architecture Degree (non-preprofessional degree + 90 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2017

Architecture Registration Exam (ARE) pass rates for UWM can be found here.

The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) has formally granted the Architecture program at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning the full six-year term of accreditation, following their visit in spring 2011.

The Visiting Team undertook an exhaustive review of the department and the curriculum, and concluded that the program, “while only representing 3% of the student body, is seen as a star of the university. It is equally cherished by those in the profession who seek its graduates.”

The Team went on to state that the “School of Architecture and Urban Planning (SARUP) is an important factor in UWM’s rising profile in the Milwaukee community. Through Dean Greenstreet’s efforts, the built environment in the city has become an increasing source of civic pride. The faculty at UWM SARUP demonstrates a distinctive process of governance that is consensus oriented, transparent, and collegial and ultimately demonstrates a model of collaboration.”

The Team was especially complimentary about the sponsored studios, which they stated were “models for peers across the country. These studios provide opportunities for students to work with professionals, raise the profile of SARUP and create and entrepreneurial initiative for infusing financial resources into the school.”

The Team commented on the direction of the curriculum, which “values individual choice over structure. This requires students to become active participants in the life of the institution and responsible for their personal educational path. A nurturing and accessible faculty becomes an important aspect in the success of this model.”

The Department of Architecture’s professional program has always carried full accreditation since its inception 40 years ago.

National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB) Documents

2009 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation

1.0 UWM SARUP Accreditation Portfolio 2010 Parts 1 and 2

1.1 NAAB Architecture Program Report (APR) 2010

2.1 July 25, 2011 Decision Letter from NAAB

2.2 2011 Visiting Team Report (VTR)

3.1 NAAB ARS Part 1 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2011

3.2 University of Wisconsin Milwaukee 2011 NAAB Response

4.1 NAAB ARS Part 1 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2012

4.2 University of Wisconsin Milwaukee 2012 NAAB Response

2014 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation

2015 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation