The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture & Urban Planning (SARUP) offers one-year fellowships in the areas of design instruction and architectural research. The fellowships are geared toward focusing and expanding design research, energizing the architectural curriculum with current discourse, as well as confirming an academic career path for candidates in the formative stage of their professional lives. Innovative and emerging designers, architecture practitioners, and scholars are encouraged to conduct design research and to participate in the SARUP community through the teaching of studios and seminars. Two fellowship focus areas that have been identified are:

Innovation in Design (IID) an opportunity to develop a thematic body of work within the context of studio teaching which focuses on innovative design praxis. The IID Fellowship links design research with studio pedagogy, using the studio as a laboratory for design investigation.

Advancing Contemporary Theories (ACT) an opportunity to take a leading role in the study and teaching of contemporary architectural theory. The ACT Fellowship links design studio and seminar instruction with research in timely architectural criticism in areas such as landscape urbanism, digital design theory, contemporary culture, etc.

Current Fellows:
Sarah Aziz
Lindsey Krug

Past Fellows:
José Ibarra, 2019 – 2020
Michael Jefferson, 2019 – 2020
Antonio Furgiuele, 2015 – 2017
Tao Sule DuFour, 2014 – 2015
Filip Tejchman, 2013 – 2014

Apply now for the 2021-2022 Architecture Fellowship