Washington County Campus Parking

Have questions? Email UWM at Washington County Parking at wsh-park@uwm.edu or call us at 262-335-5200.

UWM at Washington County has one large student parking lot (on your right as you enter the campus drive) and two visitor lots (at the top of the campus drive). Please see our map for details.

Parking restrictions are in effect during fall and spring semesters, including final exams. Permits are not required during winter break or summer session.

Rules and Regulations

Authorization for campus regulations comes from the Wisconsin Statutes UWS 18, “Conduct on University Lands” and Wisconsin Statute Ch. 346, “Rules of the Road,” that also applies to off-street areas designated as parking facilities. All traffic shall obey the posted signs regulating campus traffic.

The primary features of the campus parking program include:
  • Registration of vehicles for faculty, staff and students using campus lots
  • Parking for visitors
  • Clear and concise parking regulations and enforcement beginning the first week of classes
  • Well-defined parking areas
  • Unobstructed drives for emergency vehicles
Parking Permits
Students follow the process below to get your permits. Faculty/Staff must apply for and pick up their permits in-person at the Library on the UWM at Washington County Campus.
  1. Permits are required during the fall and spring semesters through the end of the final exam period from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p-m Monday Friday.
  2. Permits are not required during winter break or summer session, but students wishing to park on campus must park in the student lot.
  3. Purchase a semester parking hang tag permit of $25.00 through UWM Transportation Services Portal, login, and follow the directions on the site. Bring paid receipt to the Library. Hang-tag permits are valid from the beginning to the end of the semester. A new permit must be purchased for each semester, and they should be available online for purchase no later than two weeks prior to the start of classes. If a hang-tag permit is lost, a new permit must be purchased for $15.00 at the Library.
  4. Hang-tag permits must be properly hung on the rear-view mirror with the permit number visible from the outside. Must have permit displayed in vehicle when parking in Permit Required Lots.
  5. Persons who own more than one vehicle may transfer the hang-tag permit between vehicles or may purchase a hang-tag permit for each vehicle at full-price.
  6. Sticker permits for motorcycles. motor scooters and motorbikes are available in the Solution Center and must be displayed. There is an area of the student lot reserved for cycles/bikes only.
Vehicles without a tag or parked in unmarked areas are subject to a fine by the West Bend Police Department or UWM at Washington County Campus. Please allow extra time for parking during your commute. Permits allow parking, space is not guaranteed.
Visitor Parking

Visitor parking is available in the faculty staff lot for a maximum of 60 minutes. Those spots are intended to be short term for visitor use while attending to campus business. Students and faculty/staff are NOT permitted to park in visitor spaces during the posted hours of enforcement. Parking restrictions are enforced Monday Friday from 8.00 a-m. to 5:00.

For visits longer than one hour, visitors should stop in the Student Affairs office to obtain a parking pass. Other spaces in the upper lots are intended for faculty/staff and require a sticker. (Unauthorized vehicles are subject to a $20.00 fine.)

Disabled Parking
Vehicles displaying a disabled license plate or tag may park in any of the designated parking stalls in the upper parking lots. Entrance doors to the campus are equipped with automatic entry buttons, and two elevators allow access to the second and third floors.
No Parking Areas
Parking is not allowed at any time in these areas:
    1. Loading docks and driveways
    2. Diagonal-lined areas, grass and sidewalks
    3. In front of stairs
    4. Reserved spaces (handicapped, administrative, fleet vehicles, food service, dean, associate dean or continuing education guests)
    5. Along curbs
    6. In any other area not designated by regular parking space lines.
Lot Information

Permits are not required for regular parking spaces weekdays after 500 p.m. or on weekends. See map for details.

Short-term Visitor Parking (Primary Faculty/Staff Lot) UWM at Washington County students and faculty\staff will be ticketed if they park in visitor spaces during the posted hours of enforcement.

Handicap-accessible Parking (Primary Faculty/Staff Lot) Signage indicates reserved spaces, They can be found nearest the main entrance along the front of the building.

Free Parking (S, University Drive and other city streets) No campus permit is required to park on S. University Drive or on nearby city streets. *Subject to local traffic regulations.

Student Parking (Student Lot) Student permit required.

Special Event Parking (Student Lot) No permit required.

Faculty/Staff Parking (Faculty/Staff Lots) Faculty/staff permit required.

Motorcycle Parking(Student Lots Please park on the indicated slab to minimize risk of damage.

Citations
Students with unpaid parking fines will have a hold placed on their academic record. This means they may not be able to register for classes and/or receive grades and transcripts. Vehicles in violation will be ticketed for the following:
      • $50 Illegal parking in handicap spaces
      • $50 Use of a lost or stolen permit; defacing or altering a permit
      • $20 Parking in a restricted area, including faculty and staff lot or administration spaces.
      • $20 Improper parking
  When permits are required (during fall/spring semesters), vehicles in violation will also be ticketed for the following:
      • $20 Time restrictions in visitor parking. Can’t park in visitor parking spots while attending class.
      • $20 Parking without a staff permit in staff lots
      • $10 Parking without a permit in student lots.
      • $10 Improper display of permit
Remember-Must have permit properly displayed in vehicle when parking in Permit Required Lots. Paying Citations Ways to pay include Credit and Debit Cards, such as:
      • American Express
      • Discover
      • MasterCard
      • Visa
Students and Nonstudents Pay through UWM Transportation Services Portal after charges have been added to your account.. It may take up to one week for charges to be entered.
Appeals
Parking tickets may be appealed in writing within the first 7 business days of the ticket issuance. Procedure
  1. Go to https://uwm.t2hosted.com/Account/Portal , click View Your Citations, click Appeal, and follow the instructions on the site to start your appeal.
  2. The Parking Committee reviews appeals monthly.
  3. Appellants will be notified via email of the final decision (approve/deny) of the appeal.
  4. lf the appeal is denied, the ticket must be paid before consequences.
Parking Ticket Appeals Information Before appealing a parking citation, review the following points provided by the Parking Committee:
  1. Hang-tag permits are permission to park but are NOT a guarantee of a parking space close in proximity.
  2. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the motor vehicle operator. Lack of space is not an acceptable excuse for violation of any parking regulation.
  3. The fact that other vehicles were improperly parked does not constitute a valid excuse for illegal parking.
  4. Documented proof must be attached to the appeal for an emergency or other extenuating circumstances.
  5. The Parking Committee can uphold, lessen or suspend the original fine.
  6. The past parking violations record will factor in the Committee’s decision.
Towing

UWM at Washington County reserves the right to tow vehicles that are in violation of campus parking regulations. All towing will be at the owner’s expense.

Campus employees may not assist with vehicle problems because of potential damage to the vehicle or injury to a person.

Consequences of Unpaid Citations
Students with unpaid parking fines will have a hold placed on their academic record. This means they may not be able to register for classes and/or receive grades and transcripts. Added penalties may follow.