Joanne Lazirko Award for the Innovative Use of Learning Technologies

About the Joanne Lazirko Award

In memory of Joanne Lazirko, Lecturer in the Lubar School of Business, an annual award has been established to celebrate her passion for teaching and successful use of learning technologies in her classes.

The Lazirko Award bestowed by the Provost’s Office in consultation with CETL recognizes innovation in the effective integration of learning technologies to promote student engagement and collaboration, active learning, and critical thinking. Technology-enhanced teaching recognized by the Lazirko Award is particularly meant to identify models and practices of pedagogy that may be productively used by other instructors. All full-time faculty and academic staff with no less than three years of service at UWM who routinely use learning technologies in their teaching to accomplish these ends are eligible for consideration.

The Lazirko Award recipient will be recognized at the Fall Awards Ceremony hosted by the Chancellor and receive $1,500 in supplies and equipment.

The Lazirko Award Process entails Nomination and Candidate Award Portfolio deadlines outlined below.

The Nomination Process

Nominations for the Lazirko Award may be submitted by UWM students, faculty, staff, departments, and organizations, as well as by the candidate. Nomination letters must detail the learning technologies used by the nominee and the evidence supporting the candidate’s pedagogical effectiveness. The nomination should focus upon no more than two courses that demonstrate the nominee’s innovative and effective use of learning technologies.

All nominations must be submitted as a PDF to the Office Manager of the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning by the deadline. Candidates nominated will receive a letter following this deadline reminding each to submit the Candidate Award Portfolio materials outlined below.

Candidate Award Portfolio Materials

All nominees must submit an electronic portfolio that addresses how the candidate:

  • Aligns learning objectives with content, activities, and assessments
  • Promotes interaction and communication
  • Provides learner support and resources
  • Enhances student learning through pedagogically-effective uses of technology
  • Displays potential for use of technologies by other instructors.
  • Demonstrates enthusiasm for teaching

The Candidate Award portfolio must be submitted by April 22nd and should include:

  • Two additional letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee’s teaching, relevant course syllabi,
  • Canvas or D2L sites
  • Midterm and/or final course evaluations
  • Student feedback
  • Sample course materials
  • Documentation of online and in-class activities, if applicable
  • Candidate Reflection

To assist the committee in its deliberations, the candidate should compose a reflection illustrating their pedagogical motivations, goals, and methods as well as how technology has enhanced the learning experience in the course(s) to be evaluated.

  • For those teaching technology-enhanced or blended courses, evidence of demonstrated effectiveness in the face-to-face environment should also be submitted.

Review and Award Process

The Award Candidates materials will be reviewed in late spring by an Award Committee comprised of faculty and instructional academic staff. All Award Candidates will be notified of the results in May.


  • 2019 – Christopher Cantwell, History
  • 2018 – Philip Chang, Physics
  • 2017 – Yael Ben-Yitschak, Hebrew Studies
  • 2016 – Debra Seibert, Department of English
  • 2015 – Benjamin Heinen, Criminal Justice Program
  • 2014 – Les Johnson, School of Education
  • 2013 – Christopher Willey, Department of Art and Design
  • 2012 – Rachel Baum, Department of Foreign Languages & Literature
  • 2011 – Susan Stalewski, Biomedical Lab Sciences Program
    and Diane Reddy, Department of Psychology
  • 2010 – Bonnie Klein-Tasman, Department of Psychology