CLACS Faculty

Over 60 UWM faculty members are listed as “CLACS faculty” who have interest in the region or identify as Latin Americanists or Caribbeanists. They represent most Schools/Colleges at UWM.

Aborampah, Osei-Mensah (Emeritus)
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: Afro-Caribbean families; women and development in black societies of the Americas and Africa
Country Interests: Caribbean
mensah@uwm.edu
Antunes, Susana
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
antunes@uwm.edu
Bellegarde-Smith, Patrick (Emeritus)
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: religion, gender and class issues in the African Diaspora; intellectual paradigms; comparative culture
Country Interests: Haiti, Brazil, African Diaspora
pbs@uwm.edu
Bird-Soto, Nancy
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: women writers, gender studies, US Hispanic literatures and cultures, creative writing
Country Interests: Puerto Rico, US, Nicaragua, Mexico, Spain
birdsoto@uwm.edu
Blasini, Gilberto
Department of English
Research/Teaching Interests: Latin American film and issues of identity
Country Interests: Caribbean
gblasini@uwm.edu
Rachel Bloom-Pojar
Bloom-Pojar, Rachel
Department of English
Research/Teaching Interests: Translingual Literacies; Cross-cultural Medical Rhetoric; Public Writing and Community Engagement; Global Health and Latin America/El Caribe; Latinx Rhetorics; Rhetorical Practices for Interpretation and Translation
Country of Interest: Dominican Republic, Latinx U.S., Caribbean
bloompoj@uwm.edu

 

Paul Brodwin
Brodwin, Paul
Department of Anthropology
Research/Teaching Interests: Haitian Diaspora studies
Country Interests: Haiti, Guadeloupe
brodwin@uwm.edu
Cameron, Barry
Department of Geosciences
Research/Teaching Interests: igneous petrology, volcanology
Country Interests: Guatemala
bcameron@uwm.edu
Cárdenas, Brenda
Department of English
Research/Teaching Interests: Poetry writing; performance art; interdisciplinary arts; U.S. Latina/o literature, especially contemporary poetry
Country Interests: The Latina/o United States, Mexico
cardenab@uwm.edu
Conceição, Simone
Department of Administrative Leadership
Research/Teaching Interests: distance education; online strategies for teaching and learning
Country Interests: Brazil
simonec@uwm.edu
Davies Cordova, Sarah
Department of French, Italian, and Comparative Literature
Research/Teaching Interests: 19th to 21st century literatures in French; colonial and post-colonial literatures and cultures
Country Interests: Francophone Caribbean: especially Guadeloupe, Haiti and Martinique
cordovas@uwm.edu
Davis-Benavides, Christopher
Department of Visual Art
Research/Teaching Interests: ceramic sculpture; cross cultural experience; aesthetic
interposition of cultures
Country Interests: Peru
cdavisb@uwm.edu
Deal, Raoul
Department of Visual Art
Research/Teaching Interests: sculpture, installation art, cross-cultural activities and the creation of art in community settings
Country Interests: Mexico
rgdeal@uwm.edu
Dressel, Anne
College of Nursing
Research/Teaching Interests: Global health; food security
Country Interests: Ecuador, U.S.
banda@uwm.edu
Ehlinger, Timothy
College of Nursing
Research/Teaching Interests: Sustainable development; restoration ecology and community-based watershed planning
Country Interests: Costa Rica
ehlinger@uwm.edu
Ferreira, César
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: contemporary Latin American novel; Latin American popular culture; Peruvian literature
Country Interests: Mexico, Peru, Southern Cone
cferr@uwm.edu
Ferro, Simone
Department of Dance
Research/Teaching Interests: movement; African diasporic dance
Country Interests: Brazil
sferro@uwm.edu
Figueroa, Enrique
Roberto Hernández Center
Research/Teaching Interests: Demographics of U.S. Latinos; the immigrant experience; socioeconomic conditions of U.S. Latinos
Country Interests: Mexico
figueroa@uwm.edu
Fraiser, Margaret
Department of Geosciences
Research/Teaching Interests: Paleoecology
Country Interests: Argentina
mfraiser@uwm.edu
Galvao, Loren
College of Nursing
Research/Teaching Interests: international/global health; reproductive health; HIV/AIDS
Country Interests: Brazil, Latin America
lgalvao@uwm.edu
Gillespie, Maria
Department of Dance
Research/Teaching Interests: Contemporary Performance and Choreography
Country Interests: Mexico
gillespi@uwm.edu
Handelman, Howard (Emeritus)
Department of Political Science
Research/Teaching Interests: democratization; political economy
Country Interests: Mexico, Southern Cone, Andean countries
Hanlon, Donald
Department of Architecture
Research/Teaching Interests: formal structure of architecture
Country Interests: Mexico, Costa Rica
dhanlon@uwm.edu
Hewitt, Jeanne (Emerita)
Department of Nursing
Research/Teaching/Consultation: Children’s environmental health; epidemiology (studying the health of populations); “environmental public health” in the U.S. and Latin American and Caribbean countries
Country Interests: Latin America, US
jbhewitt@uwm.edu
Höbel, Gerlinde
Department of Biological Sciences
Research/Teaching Interests: behavior ecology; animal communication; evolutionary biology; amphibians and reptiles
Country Interests: Costa Rica, Panama
hoebel@uwm.edu
Hudson, Jean
Department of Anthropology
Research/Teaching Interests: forager adaptations; ecological and evolutionary models; zooarchaeology; ethnoarchaeology
Country Interests: Peru
jhudson@uwm.edu
Isbell, John L.
Department of Geosciences
Research/Teaching Interests: Clastic sedimentology; stratigraphy
Country Interests: Argentina
jisbell@uwm.edu
Izquierdo, René
Department of Music
Research/Teaching Interests: classical guitar; Afro-Caribbean and Latin American guitar styles
Country Interests: Cuba
Rene_izquierdo@yahoo.com
Kahl, Jonathan
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Research/Teaching Interests: Atmospheric sciences; air pollution
Country Interests: Mexico
kahl@uwm.edu
Kaster, Jerry
School of Freshwater Sciences
Research/Teaching Interests: Aquatic Ecology
Country Interests: Mexico
jlk@uwm.edu
Kilwein Guevara, Mauricio
Department of English
Research/Teaching Interests: U.S. Latina/o Literature, Andean literatures and cultures
Country Interests: Colombia, Ecuador
maurice@uwm.edu
Kitchen, Diane (Emerita)
Department of Film
Research/Teaching Interests: 16 mm filmmaking
Country Interests: Peru
dkitchen@uwm.edu
Leone, Leah
MALLT – Graduate Program in Translation
Research/Teaching Interests: Jorge Luis Borges; translation and gender; translation and narrative
Country Interests: Transatlantic; Latin America
leh@uwm.edu
Luft, Heidi
College of Nursing
Research/Teaching Interests: Women’s health, Latin@ health in the US and abroad, sexual health, community based participatory research, qualitative methods, mixed methods, cultural diversity in healthcare
Country of Interest: Dominican Republic, Latin America, Latin@s in the US
hsluft@uwm.edu
Mamalakis, Markos (Emeritus)
Department of Economics
Research/Teaching Interests: poverty, mobility, inequality and social and economic justice
Country Interests: Chile
mamalaki@uwm.edu
McCaw, R. John
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: ritual and religion in Spanish and Latin American literature
Country Interests: Latin America
rjmccaw@uwm.edu
McClure, Daniel
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: comparative social movements; comparative ethnic studies; identity and community formation; race in the Americas
Country Interests: Latin America and the Caribbean
mcclured@uwm.edu
McGuinness, Aims
Department of History
Research/Teaching Interests: 19th century Latin America; development of the Pacific world
Country Interests: Panama
smia@uwm.edu
Méndez-Santalla, Isabel
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: Spanish language teaching; Spanish for the professions
Country Interests: Latin America
zam@uwm.edu
Mitchell-Walthour, Gladys
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: Brazilian Racial Politics, Afro-Brazilian Political Behavior, Racial Policies
Country Interests: Brazil
mitchelg@uwm.edu
Munson, Ethan
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research/Teaching Interests: multimedia documents; human-computer interation; object-oriented programming; digital documents
Country Interests: Brazil
munson@cs.uwm.edu
Pitt, Kristin E.
Department of French, Italian and Comparative Literature
Research/Teaching Interests: gender, race, sexuality and nationalism in 19th and 20th Century literature
Country Interests: Latin America, Caribbean and North America
kepitt@uwm.edu
Pucci, Sandra Liliana
Department of Linguistics
Research/Teaching Interests: Bilingualism, second language acquisition, heritage language development
Country Interests: Central America, Argentina, US
pucci@uwm.edu
Rapoport, Amos (Distinguished Emeritus)
Department of Architecture
Research/Teaching Interests: culture and environment
Country Interests: Latin America
rapoport@uwm.edu
Rei-Doval, Gabriel
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: sociolinguistics; Galician Studies; historiography of linguistics; applied linguistics
Country Interests: Galician diaspora, Latin America, US
reidoval@uwm.edu
Rios, Alvaro Saar
Department of Theater
Research/Teaching Interests: Playwriting; Ethno-drama; U.S. Latino Theatre; Texas/Mexican folklore
Country Interests: Mexico (before the Mexican Revolution)
riosa@uwm.edu
Rodríguez, Joseph
Department of History
Research/Teaching Interests: Latino/a social movements
Country Interests: Mexico, US
joerod@uwm.edu
Rodríguez, Rafael
Department of Biological Sciences
Research/Teaching Interests: Behavioral ecology of insects and spiders, sexual selection
Country Interests: Costa Rica
rafa@uwm.edu
Rodríguez-Luis, Julio (Emeritus)
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: Spanish-American modern narrative
Country Interests: Spanish-America
jrluis@uwm.edu
Ruggiero, Kristin (Emeritus)
Department of History
Research/Teaching Interests: medicine and law in 19th century
Country Interests: Argentina
ruggiero@uwm.edu
Saint Jacques, Ermitte
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: Transnational migration and globalization; race and ethnicity; gender and migration
Country Interests: Haitian Diapsora in the Caribbean and US
saintjac@uwm.edu
Sherman, R. Jason
Department of Anthropology
Research/Teaching Interests: Archaic states; political and economic organization; archaeological method and theory; landscape archaeology; GIS; ceramic analysis; Mesoamerica
Country Interests: Mexico
shermanr@uwm.edu
Snyder, Gil
Department of Architecture
Research/Teaching Interests: Women’s and Girl’s Shelter for victims of domestic abuse; indigenous knowledge in architecture; architectural detailing; environmental sustainability; the post-industrial city
Country Interests: Malawi, Peru, France
gsnyder@uwm.edu
Sommers, Jeffrey
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: Africology, political economy, and public policy
Country Interests: Haiti, Caribbean
sommerjw@uwm.edu
Song, Sooho
Department of Foreign Languages and Literature
Research/Teaching Interests: The effects of cultural differences on politeness behavior in Korea (Asia), Latin America, and the US
Country Interests: Latin America
sooho@uwm.edu
Sotomayor, M. Estrella
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: language teaching strategies; Spanish for the professions
Country Interests: Latin America
mes4@uwm.edu
Suárez-Felipe, Ester
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: language teaching strategies; Spanish American culture
Country Interests: Latin America
ester@uwm.edu
Sugiyama, Natasha Borges
Department of Political Science
Research/Teaching Interests: comparative politics, social policy, and gender politics
Country Interests: Brazil
sugiyamn@uwm.edu
Sziarto, Kristin
Department of Geography
Research/Teaching Interests: Geographies of social movements, immigrant activism, political theory, cities and citizenship, urban public health, gender, sexuality, and urban space
Country Interests: México, Colombia and U.S. Latina/o
sziarto@uwm.edu
Tapia, Javier
Department of Educational Policy & Community Studies
Research/Teaching Interests: cultural anthropology; bilingual/bicultural education; Latino studies
Country Interests: Mexico, US
jtapia@uwm.edu
Terando, Lorena A.
Department of French, Italian, and Comparative Literature
Research/Teaching Interests: 19th century Latin American literature; contemporary Latin American and US Latina women writers; translation theory and practice
Country Interests: Mexico
terando@uwm.edu
Tiffany, Tanya J.
Department of Art History
Research/Teaching Interests: Early modern feminine spirituality; gender and race in the Spanish empire; visual culture and popular devotion; artistic theory; cultural exchange in the early modern world
Country Interests: Spain, Peru, and the Spanish Empire more broadly
tiffanyt@uwm.edu
Vang, Chia Youyee
Department of History
Reasearch/Teaching Interests: 20th century US-Asia Relations, Cold War politics, Asian American history, refugee migration, transnational and diaspora communities
Country Interests: French Guiana and Argentina
vangcy@uwm.edu
Vélez, William
Department of Sociology
Research/Teaching Interests: Persistence and success in higher education; high school attrition; Latinos in the U. S.; race and ethnic relations
Country Interests: Puerto Rico
velez@uwm.edu
Walter, Gilbert (Emeritus)
Department of Mathematics
Research/Teaching Interests: statistics
Country Interests: Latin America
ggw@uwm.edu
Washabaugh, William (Emeritus)
Department of Anthropology
Research/Teaching Interests: linguistic anthropology; Creole studies; sign language studies; music; nationalism
Country Interests: Caribbean
wash@uwm.edu
Wellin, Edward (Emeritus)
Department of Anthropology
Country Interests: Latin America
Wheatley, Kathleen
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Research/Teaching Interests: structure of Spanish-diachronic evolution and synchronic (dialect) variation
Country Interests: Latin America
wheatley@uwm.edu
Winkler, Erin
Department of Africology
Research/Teaching Interests: African American families and communities; race and place (nationally and internationally); childhood and adolescence
Country Interests: U.S. and Brazil
winkere@uwm.edu
Wood, W. Warner
Department of Anthropology
Research/Teaching Interests: Museum studies and public anthropology, expressive and material culture, globalization and transnational processes, environmental cultures and histories, tourism, ethnicity and identity, practice theories, and qualitative methodologies
Country Interests: Mexico and United States
woodw@uwm.edu