NCCLA was organized in 1966 by a group of Latin Americanists from Wisconsin universities. Their Charter, adopted the same year, expanded the scope of membership to include faculty and students from public and private institutions of higher learning throughout the upper Midwest. The NCCLA is one of eight regional Latin Americanist organizations in the country.
The NCCLA Secretariat is housed at the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

2018-19 Executive Committee

Co-Presidents: Elia Armacanqui-Tipacti (Emerita, UW-Stevens Point) and
Pedro dos Santos (College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University)
Program Chair: Eduardo Magalhäes III (Simpson College)
Deputy Program Chair:  Megan Sheehan (College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University)
Nominations Chair:  Shane Boeder (Marian University)
Communications/Membership Chair:  Mariano Magalhães (Augustana College)
Secretary-Treasurer:  Ben Narvaez (University of Minnesota-Morris)

Bylaws (pdf)

2019-20 NCCLA Nominations