For information about UWM’s fall semester plans, visit the Fall 2020 Reopening website.

Research Symposium 2015

On April 3rd, our annual Research Symposium and Awards Day Ceremony was held in the Wisconsin room of UWM’s Student Union.graduate student council 2015Every year, this event is organized by our Graduate Student Council. This year’s members are: Nina Yuan, Margaret Guthrie, Karl Koebke, Josie Corby and Kelly Teske. The event began with a welcome speech from Margaret Guthrie. This led to the 3 poster sessions split by a catered lunch for students, guest, and judges. Posters were created by graduate students, undergraduates, and high school students from Brookfield Central, Brown Deer, and Brookfield Academy High Schools.

Chancellor Mone Dr. Hamilton

Dean Rodney Swain from the College of Letters & Science and UWM’s Chancellor Mark Mone gave outstanding speeches highlighting the fantastic program we offer and our professors’ and students’ accomplishments. Our special keynote speaker, Tracy Hamilton from the University of Alabama Birmingham, then explained the “Chemistry of Coffee.” The day came to a conclusion with Dr. Kristen Murphy, assisted by other professors from the department, presenting the following awards to our amazing winners:

Kristen Murphy 2015 Rodney Swain

Undergraduate Awards:

  • Outstanding Performance in Introductory Chemistry (Mackenzie Wade)
  • Outstanding Performance in Analytical Chemistry (Kelsey Holbert)
  • Outstanding Performance in Biochemistry (Dianah Kornov)
  • Outstanding Performance in Inorganic Chemistry (Liv Heidenreich)
  • Kovacic Award for Outstanding Performance in Organic Chemistry (Michael Sportiello)
  • Vanselow Award for Outstanding performance in Physical Chemistry (Sean Bannier)
  • Chemistry Emeritus Award, Outstanding Junior (Elliot DiMilo)
  • Chemistry Emeritus Award, Outstanding Senior (Kelsey Holbert)
  • Durward Layde Memorial Fellowship (Christina Tersine)


Kelsey Holbert 2015 Elliot DiMilo 2015
Dianah Kornov Christina Tersine
Sean Bannier Mackensie Wade
Micheal Sportiello Liv Heidenreich 2015

Graduate Awards:

  • Moczynski Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award (Shalini Srinivasan)
  • Sosnovsky Award for Excellence in Graduate Research (TIE-Phani Babu & Kelly Teske)
  • Faculty of the Year Award (1st place-Dr. Jorg Woehl, 2nd place TIE – Dr. Alexander “Leggy” Arnold & Dr. Peter Geissinger)
Shalini Srinivasan 2015 Kelly Teske Phani Babu Sosnovsky Award

Graduate Posters:

  • 4th Place Chemistry Alumni Award for Graduate Research (Shalini Srinivasan)
  • 3rd Place McFarland Graduate Research Award (Ted Theuening)
  • 1st and 2nd place TIE (Lisa Mueller & Nina Yuan)

Undergraduate Posters

  • 3rd place Chemistry Alumni Award for Undergraduate Research (Trevor Melkonian)
  • 2nd place Chemistry Alumni Award for Undergraduate Research (Kelsey Holbert)
  • 1st place McFarland Undergraduate Research Award (Chris Goetz)
Graduate Student Poster award winners 2015 Undergraduate Student Poster Award Winners 2015

Impressions of the symposium.

poster session