For UWM updates on the COVID-19 pandemic, visit

Graduate Student Awards

Past Award Recipients

Morris and Miriam Marden Award in Mathematics

Morris Marden became a Mathematics Professor at one of UWM’s predecessor institutions in 1930. He was instrumental in starting the graduate program at UWM in the 1950’s. Upon his retirement, he donated funds to establish student awards and a visiting lecture program.

The Morris Marden Graduate Award will be given for a mathematical paper of high quality with respect to both exposition and mathematical content. The paper need not be written specifically for the Marden Award; papers originally written for coursework, independent study, professional reports, dissertation, or other reasons are acceptable.

Applicants must be UWM graduate students and should submit

  1. a PDF file of the paper and
  2. a letter of support from a faculty member describing the relevance and intellectual merits of the paper.

The length of the paper is expected to be between 10 and 25 pages, but these limits are not strict. Applicants should submit the above files electronically to Profs. Chris Hruska, Gabriella Pinter, or Hans Volkmer by April 22, 2019.

Ernst Schwandt Teaching Award

The Department of Mathematical Sciences annually recognizes demonstrated outstanding teaching performance by Mathematical Sciences Graduate Student Teaching Assistants through the Ernst Schwandt Award.

Nominations are accepted from members of the Department of Mathematical Sciences (faculty, TA’s, lecturers, staff); self nominations are accepted.

To nominate someone for the award, submit a letter of nomination describing how the nominee merits the award. Nominations letters should be emailed to Professor Lijing Sun.

Nomination letters are due by April 22, 2019.

Beginning 2006, a student may win the award at most once in any three year period.

Dhirendra Sikdar Scholarship in Atmospheric Science

The Dhirendra Sikdar Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 1989 to support graduate students in the atmospheric sciences masters or doctoral programs. The scholarship was established to honor a former UWM faculty member with a keen interest in meteorology. A committee of faculty members within the discipline will select students for this scholarship based on the quality of their overall academic record, including grade point average, research and other accomplishments, and the recommendation of faculty members.

Deadline: April 22, 2019

Application Form

For further information, please contact Professor Jon Kahl.

Mark Lawrence Teply Award

Application Instructions

The Department of Mathematical Sciences’ Mark Lawrence Teply award is designed to recognize students who show remarkable potential in their research fields. The award is a memorial of Professor Teply’s (b.1942-d. 2006) commitment to the graduate program. Along with this recognition, winners are awarded funding to be spent on books in their chosen field of research. The award is hoped to be given out each academic year in the Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Book purchases must be arranged through the department’s staff during the six weeks following the spring awards ceremony.

General Eligibility

Full-time graduate students in the UWM Department of Mathematical Sciences who have reached dissertator status, but have not yet defended their theses are eligible to submit a one page description of the books in their field which they would most like to add to their own reference libraries. Applicants are expected to be in good academic standing, and have a well defined research focus.

Selection Criteria

This merit based award is highly competitive. Winners must demonstrate outstanding potential as researchers in the mathematical sciences. Some specific criteria considered include the following.

  1. Written statement of application (see above)
  2. Reference from a graduate faculty member in the Department of Mathematical Sciences
  3. Graduate GPA
  4. Scholarly progress

Application Procedure

Submit the following by April 15, 2019 to Professor Hinow:

  1. written statement of application;
  2. an unofficial copy of your graduate transcripts; and
  3. the name of a graduate faculty member in the Department of Mathematical Sciences whom you would want the selection committee to contact for a recommendation.

For questions, please contact Professor Peter Hinow.