Research

The Mathematical Sciences department has researchers in a number of areas. The following is an approximate list of the main research groups in the department and their members. These are informal groupings; naturally many faculty members belong to multiple groups.

Actuarial Science Research Group

Algebra Research Group

Jeb WillenbringAssociate Chair for the Graduate Program; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaljw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E461

Analysis Research Group

Kevin McLeodAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E481
Lijing SunAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465

Applied Mathematics Research Group

Peter HinowProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Lei WangAssociate Professor; AMCS Program Coordinator
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan XieProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W411

Differential Equations Research Group

Peter HinowProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Kevin McLeodAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E481
Lijing SunAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465

Dynamical Systems Research Group

Suzanne BoydAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsboyd@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E402

Numerical Analysis Research Group

Lei WangAssociate Professor; AMCS Program Coordinator
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan XieProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W411

Probability & Stochastic Analysis Research Group

Richard StockbridgeDistinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalstockbri@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W447
Chao ZhuProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalzhu@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E489

Statistics Research Group

Daniel GerviniProfessor; BSDS Program Coordinator
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgervini@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E487
Vincent LarsonProfessor; Data Science Internship Coordinator
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvlarson@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E477
David SpadeAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Statisticsspade@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E459

Topology Research Group

Jonah GasterColloquium Chair; Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Topologygaster@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E445
Craig GuilbaultProfessor, Department Chair
Mathematical Sciences - Generalcraigg@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E402
Chris HruskaProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalchruska@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E475
Boris OkunProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalokun@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E483