For information about UWM’s fall semester plans, visit the Fall 2020 Reopening website.

Research

The Mathematical Sciences department has researchers in a number of areas. The following is an approximate list of the main research groups in the department and their members. These are informal groupings; naturally many faculty members belong to multiple groups.

Actuarial Science Research Group

Yang Ho, FSA, PhDDirector of Actuarial Science; Clinical Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhoy@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E452
Wei Wei, ASAAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E455

Algebra Research Group

Allen BellAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaladbell@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E449
Jeb WillenbringAssociate Chair for the Graduate Program; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaljw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E461
Yi Ming ZouProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalymzou@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E410

Analysis Research Group

Kevin McLeodAssistant Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E481
Lijing SunAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465
Hans VolkmerProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E451

Applied Mathematics Research Group

Peter HinowColloquium Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Lei WangAssistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan XieProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W411

Atmospheric Science Research Group

Jonathan KahlProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkahl@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W435
Sergey KravtsovProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkravtsov@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W441
Vincent LarsonProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvlarson@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E477
Paul RoebberDistinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalroebber@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W428

Differential Equations Research Group

Peter HinowColloquium Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Kevin McLeodAssistant Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E481
Lijing SunAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465
Hans VolkmerProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E451

Dynamical Systems Research Group

Numerical Analysis Research Group

Lei WangAssistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan XieProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W411

Probability & Stochastic Analysis Research Group

Richard StockbridgeDistinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalstockbri@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W447
Wei Wei, ASAAssociate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E455
Chao ZhuProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalzhu@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E489

Statistics Research Group

Jay BederProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalbeder@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E485
Daniel GerviniProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgervini@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E487
David SpadeAssistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Statisticsspade@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E459

Topology Research Group

Jonah GasterAssistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Topologygaster@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E445
Craig GuilbaultProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalcraigg@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E471
Chris HruskaProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalchruska@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E475
Boris OkunProfessor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalokun@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E483