Scott Graham Receives Fellows’ Early Career Award from Rhetoric Society of America

Congratulations to Scott Graham for receiving the Fellows’ Early Career Award from the Rhetoric Society of America. The award honors a current member of the Rhetoric Society of America who has established an innovative and robust research record within eight years… Read More

2016 Spring Awards Ceremony

Please join us for the Spring 2016 Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 12,2016 from 3:30-5:00 in Curtin 368. The ceremony recognizes the accomplishments and continued success of our graduate students. It also gives us the opportunity to confer our new undergraduate scholarships and faculty teaching awards. Reception to follow.

Avery Edenfield Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Avery Edenfield, who successfully defended his dissertation:  “Collective Management in a Cooperative: Problematizing Productivity and Power.”  Many thanks to his major professor, Dave Clark, and committee members Scott Graham, Bill Keith, Rachel Spilka, and Fredrik Andersson.

Inaugural Issue of the English Department Newsletter

We are delighted to share with you the inaugural issue of the English Department Newsletter. This annual project will serve an important role in publicizing our accomplishments and promoting our continued success in the years ahead. The newsletter was created by Professor Rachel… Read More

Mark Heimermann Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Heimermann on his successful defense of his dissertation: “Neoliberal Darlings: The Commodification of Grotesque Children in Contemporary Comics and Literature.” Thanks to his major professor, Peter Sands, to his committee: Joe Austin, Annie McClanahan, Ted Martin,… Read More

Tasha Oren Publishes Edited Collection: “Global Asian American Popular Cultures”

Congratulations to Tasha Oren on the publication of her new edited collection: Global Asian American Popular Cultures. For more information, visit

Lindsay Daigle’s Poetry Manuscript Accepted for Publication

Congratulations to Dr. Lindsay Daigle whose recently defended poetry manuscript has been accepted for publication by Brown University’s Synecdoche Press.

Reed Stratton Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Reed Stratton, who successfully defended his dissertation:  “The Ambience of Innovation: A Material Semiotic Analysis of Corporate and Community Innovation Sites.”  Many thanks to his major professor Dave Clark and committee members Bill Keith, Dennis Lynch, Rachel… Read More

Shanae Martinez Receives Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award

Congratulations to Shanae Martinez who was selected by the graduate school to receive the Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award!

Lindsay Daigle Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Lindsay Daigle, who successfully defended her dissertation entitled, “The Small Disasters LP.” Many thanks to the members of the committee: Adream Blair, Liam Callanan, Mauricio Kilwein-Guevara, and Andrew Kincaid.