Professor Shevaun Watson Is 2022 Fromkin Grant and Lecture Recipient

From the UWM Libraries News Page; Shevaun Watson Is 2022 Fromkin Grant and Lecture Recipient – UWM Libraries Shevaun Watson, associate professor in UWM’s English department, has been selected to receive the 2022 Morris Fromkin Memorial Grant and Lecture, sponsored… Read More

February 25, 2022 – 2021 Business Writing Awards Ceremony

The 2021 Business Writing Award Ceremony will be on Friday, February 25th.
Congratulations to all the winners!

2019 AWP National Program Director’s Prize: Furrow

Furrow, the undergraduate literary magazine sponsored by the Department of English at UWM, won the National Program Directors’ Prize for Content from the Association of Writers and Writing Programs, the foremost organization of academic and creative writing programs in the United States…. Read More

Congratulations to Fall Award Winners

Congratulations to those English Department Faculty who will receive awards at today’s UWM Fall Awards Ceremony ( This ceremony is at 2:00 in the Union’s Wisconsin Room Margaret Noodin, UWM Faculty Distinguished University Service Awar Kimberly Blaeser, UWM Faculty  Distinguished… Read More

Peter Blewett Awarded NEH Fellowship

Congratulations to Senior Lecturer Peter Blewett (English) who was awarded a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities to participate in the NEH Summer Institute on “The Book: Material Histories and Digital Futures” at Salt Lake Community College during June and… Read More

Margie Mika Receives the 2018 Robert Marrs Award

Congratulations to Margie Mika, Director of the UWM Writing Center and Adjunct Assistant Professor of English, who received the 2018 Robert Marrs Award from the Midwest Writing Centers Association (MWCA). This tremendous honor is testimony to the superb leadership Margie… Read More

2017 Spring Awards Ceremony

Please join us on May 11, 2017 at 3:30pm in Curtin Hall 368 for our English Department’s 2017 Spring Awards Ceremony! The ceremony recognizes the accomplishments and continued success of our graduate students and more.

The Wladyslaw Cleszynski Memorial Award Winners:

Michael Larson, Hay in Summer

Prose Runner Up:
Sherri Hoffman, Stained With Lime

Ae Hee Lee, An Astral Death

The Wladyslaw Cleszynski Fellowship:

Ann-Marie Blanchard
Ae Hee Lee
Soham Patel

Alice Gillam Award:

Storm Pilleff
Trevor Sprague

James A Sappenfield Fellowship

Thad Furman
Molly Ubbesen
Elisa Karbin
Alexander Rucka
Joni Hayward

Tinsley Holton Dissertation Fellowship

Danielle DeVasto, Negotiating Matters of Concern: Expertise, Uncertainty, and Agency in Rhetoric of Science

2016 Emmy Nomination for Richard Horowitz

Richard Horowitz, a UWM English Lecturer, has been nominated for a 2016 Chicago-Midwest Emmy by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The nomination is in recognition of Horowitz’s weekly commentaries for “InterCHANGE,” MPTV’s recently departed public-affairs show, in the “Outstanding Crafts Achievement for On-Camera Talent: Program Correspondent/Narrator/Performer” category.

This is Horowitz’s eighth Emmy nomination; he already owns two, which are currently keeping company on a bedroom shelf with a pair of softball trophies.

Congratulations, Richard, and best of luck on the night of the awards ceremony!

English Department Members to be Recognized at Fall Awards Ceremony

The English Department is delighted to share the good news that several of its members will be recognized at this year’s UWM FallAwards Ceremony, Wednesday, October 5 at 2pm in the Union’s Wisconsin Room.

Congratulations to all, and thanks to the members of the department who nominated many of these colleagues for recognition.

Sukanya Banerjee, Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Dylan Barth (Learning Technology Center and English Ph.D.), UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Performance and Service Award

Meg Noodin Office of Research / UWM Foundation Research Award

Casey O’Brien (Women’s and Gender Studies and English Ph.D.), UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Teaching Award

Deb Siebert Joanne Lazirko Award for Excellence in Teaching with Technology

2016 Spring Awards Ceremony

Please join us for the Spring 2016 Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 12,2016 from 3:30-5:00 in Curtin 368. The ceremony recognizes the accomplishments and continued success of our graduate students. It also gives us the opportunity to confer our new undergraduate scholarships and faculty teaching awards. Reception to follow.