Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen Receive Award for Teaching Excellence

Congratulations to Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen who were selected as recipients of Awards for Teaching Excellence. Individuals are considered for this honor on the basis of nominations from their peers. From this initial balloting, it was clear how much these instructors are held in esteem for their remarkable accomplishments in the classroom and longstanding contributions to our programs.
Award for Teaching Excellence, Academic Staff:
Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter
Award for Teaching Excellence, Graduate Teaching Assistant:
Molly Ubbesen
These awardees will be recognized at the Department’s Spring Awards Ceremony, Thursday, May 12, beginning at 3:30 in CRT 368.

Phi Beta Kappa English Inductees, 2016

Congratulations to our undergraduate students who have been selected for membership in Phi Beta Kappa.

Elizabeth Ahnen
Esme Barniskis
Jack Ceschin
Leha Froats
Spero Lomenzo
Chelsea Moskow
Collin Oswald
Keane Schmidt
Samantha Smrz
Emylie Tonnacliff
Deborah Torbica
Robert Trettin

Election to membership as a senior requires a minimum GPA of 3.6, while election as a junior requires a minimum GPA of 3.8. In addition, students selected for membership must have satisfied Phi Beta Kappa distribution requirements in language, mathematics, humanities, social and natural sciences.

Phi Beta Kappa is a highly prestigious national honor; membership is recognized by graduate programs and employers as a mark of excellence.

The initiation ceremony and reception will be held in the UWM Union’s Wisconsin Room on Wednesday, April 27 at 5 p.m. Please send an RSVP to if you plan to attend.

Business Writing Challenge Recognition Event

The ceremony is intended to honor the winners of the Spring 2014 and Fall 2014 Business Writing Challenge, which encourages and rewards excellence in Business Writing. Students are notified of the competition early in the semester and are encouraged to work toward achieving a nomination to participate by their instructor.

All participants receive a certificate of participation, and the winners receive cash prizes and copies of The Business Writer’s Handbook, courtesy of Prof. Emeritus Gerald Alred and Bedford/St. Martin’s Press. Support is also provided by anonymous donors, the English Department, and the UWM Foundation.

Please join us in celebration for the Professional Writing Program’s annual Business Writing Award Ceremony. The ceremony will recognize this year’s winners and participants. The speakers will be Prof. Emeritus Gerald Alred, Carolyn Washburne, and Mariann Maris.

The ceremony is on Friday, February 13, from 10:30 a.m. -11:30 p.m. at the Hefter Center and includes a brief program and refreshments.