Undergraduate Scholarships

Each year the English Department awards several undergraduate scholarships. For these competitively-selected awards, students apply each Spring through the UWM Scholarship portal at https://uwm.academicworks.com/. Check the portal for application deadlines and eligibility qualifications. Once your application is received, a committee of English Department faculty reviews the submissions and decides the awards.

The Elizabeth Babbitt Memorial Scholarship

The Elizabeth Babbitt Memorial Scholarship is an award given to outstanding undergraduate students in English, with preference given to freshmen and sophomores with demonstrated financial need. The number of awards and their amount is determined each year in consultation with the College of Letters and Science, based on the availability of funding.

  • 2015 Awardees: Kristiana Perleberg, Bryce Stevenson
  • 2016 Awardees: Esmé Barniskis, Kathryn Skjoldager
  • 2017 Awardees: Elliott Baas, Jennifer Johnston, Adam Piwoni
  • 2018 Awardees: Bailey Flannery, Alyssa Sarenac, Morissa Young

The Robert Jones Scholarship

The purpose of the Robert Jones Scholarship is to provide financial assistance for tuition and related educational expenses for undergraduate students pursuing a degree at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee and who are enrolled full-time in a curriculum leading to admission to graduate work in literature. The student(s) must be an English major, with junior-year status. Preference will be given to African-American student(s). The student(s) must have maintained a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale in their prior undergraduate course work. The student(s) must be a resident of the State of Wisconsin and have demonstrated financial need.

  • 2018 Awardee: Diana Herron

College-Wide Scholarships

The Dr. Donna Decker Scholarship

The Decker awards were established in 2017 by the family and friends of Dr. Donna Decker, a former instructor in the Journalism, Advertising and Media Studies (JAMS) Department. Dr. Decker’s love of literature is reflected in the joint scholarship with the English Department. Awards are given to Junior or Senior full-time students with declared majors in either English or JAMS who have shown academic merit (GPA of 3.5 or higher).

  • 2018 Awardees: Bailey Flannery and Hugo Ljungbäck.
  • 2019 Awardees: Desiree DiBerardino and Megan Weigold


For additional information, please contact the Associate Chair for Undergraduates Studies, Professor Gilberto Blasini (gblasini@uwm.edu).