Congrats to retiring faculty members

A special visitor made an appearance at the last department meeting of the semester: congratulations to Professor Lane Hall, current English Department Chair, who retires from UWM in August 2024, and our other retiring faculty members.

Undergrad writers take part in Intercollegiate Reading

Writers from UWM’s undergraduate creative writing program recently took part in a crosstown reading with Marquette undergraduates. The event, part of an annual series, was hosted by Boswell Books. UWM participants included John Dewey, Noelle Gomez, Annaliese Kunst, and Abby Shroder.

Associate Professor Kate Beutner wins Edna Ferber Prize

Associate Professor Kate Beutner’s recent novel Killingly won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award. The award is part of the Wisconsin Writers Awards series, which was “established in 1964 and is Wisconsin’s longest-running literary award for published work.” It’s currently curated by the Arts… Read More