2018 Research Symposium

On May 22nd in the UWM Union Fireside Lounge, the Chemistry & Biochemistry Department hosted its annual Research Symposium, at which over 40 undergraduate and graduate students presented posters.

Before the awards ceremony commenced, Anahit Campbell and Dan Knutson presented their theses in the style of the 3MT competition in which they were both finalists in April 2018. The 3MT competition requires participants to convey their thesis in layman’s terms using at maximum one PowerPoint slide within three minutes.

After Anahit and Dan completed their presentations, the Research Symposium awards were presented to the following:


1st Place: Emily Salinas Ortega

2nd Place: Mahmoud Al Chamaa and Andrew Geurts

3rd Place: Ryan Majinski


1st Place: Tyler Fenske

2nd Place: Nemanja Vuksanovic

3rd Place: Rajwana Jahan

4th Place: Toufiqur Rahman

Faculty of the Year Award:
Dr. Joseph Aldstadt

Congrats! Thank you to everyone who participated!

Amy Furreness of Shimadzu
Chris Dockendorff of Marquette University
Chris Witzigmann of Alcami Corp. | UWM Alumnus
Gabriella Kurtz of Carthage College
Hannah Wagie of Wisconsin Lutheran College | UWM Alumna
James Wankowski of Northstar Medical | UWM Alumnus
Jier Huang of Marquette University
John Ejnik of UW-Whitewater
Paul House of UW-Whitewater
Robert Olsson of Milwaukee School of Engineering
Scott Van Ornum of Concordia University of Wisconsin

To the judges, thank you for spending your time with us!

Please enjoy this slideshow of the event:

  • Anahit Campbell presenting her thesis à la 3MT.
  • Dan Knutson presenting his thesis à la 3MT.
  • Awards Ceremony Opening remarks by Dr. Aldstadt.
  • Joe Labeots
  • Emily Ortega
  • Joe Labeots presenting his poster to Dr. Schwabacher.
  • Yeunus Mian
  • Nemanja Vuskanovic
  • Afsana Mahim
  • Shawn Salske
  • Guanguan LI
  • Atreyei Ray
  • Alex Drena
  • Victoria Fisher
  • Mahbbat Ali
  • Oseas Medina
  • Rajwana Jahan
  • Oseas Medina discussing his poster with Dr. Benko.
  • Resham Rana
  • Trevor Melkonian
  • Lamia Badhon
  • Mohammad Islam
  • Dan Knutson
  • Mahmoud al Chamaa and Andrew Geurts
  • Farjana Rashid
  • Xavier Udad showing his work to Dr. Aldstadt.
  • Quintus Owen presenting his work to a judge.
  • Xavier Udad
  • Elliot DiMilo
  • Timothy Trinklein
  • Kaleb Keefe
  • Zubair Khan
  • Ryan Majinski
  • Mizzanoor Rahaman
  • Quintus Owen
  • Garrett Finn
  • Md Toufiqur Rahman
  • Seyedali Banisadr
  • Shahid
  • Raj Virdi
  • Anahit Campbell
  • Malati Thapa
  • David Koltermann
  • Amanda Nieman
  • Tyler Fenske
  • Eric Lund
  • Trevor Hagemann
  • Nick Zahn
  • Talia Mutchie
  • Shahama Alam
  • Kamal Pandey
  • Nazmul Hussain

If you were a participant in the Symposium and would like a higher quality photo of you and your poster, please contact the undergraduate coordinator, Goldie Gibbs.