Mark Heimermann Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Heimermann on his successful defense of his dissertation: “Neoliberal Darlings: The Commodification of Grotesque Children in Contemporary Comics and Literature.” Thanks to his major professor, Peter Sands, to his committee: Joe Austin, Annie McClanahan, Ted Martin,… Read More

Tasha Oren Publishes Edited Collection: “Global Asian American Popular Cultures”

Congratulations to Tasha Oren on the publication of her new edited collection: Global Asian American Popular Cultures. For more information, visit

Lindsay Daigle’s Poetry Manuscript Accepted for Publication

Congratulations to Dr. Lindsay Daigle whose recently defended poetry manuscript has been accepted for publication by Brown University’s Synecdoche Press.

Reed Stratton Successfully Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Reed Stratton, who successfully defended his dissertation:  “The Ambience of Innovation: A Material Semiotic Analysis of Corporate and Community Innovation Sites.”  Many thanks to his major professor Dave Clark and committee members Bill Keith, Dennis Lynch, Rachel… Read More

Writing Wisconsin’s Communities with Kimberly Blaeser, Fabu, Dion Kempthorne and Timothy Yu

Tuesday, May 3, 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Wisconsin Studio, Overture Center for the Arts (Madison)

The stories and poems of Wisconsin writers shape our understanding of our natural areas and communities alike. But how can poetry and fiction change the ways in which we consider the future of our state? Wisconsin Poet Laureate Kim Blaeser leads a panel of poets from across the state in a discussion about how writers relate to their own communities, how writers feel about their stewardship over nearby places and people, and how creative writing can engage a community in ways the political process often fails to do.

Shanae Martinez Receives Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award

Congratulations to Shanae Martinez who was selected by the graduate school to receive the Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award!