Advising Resources

Areas of Interest and Faculty Advisors
Department of Psychology

It is a good idea to select a faculty advisor from the area of psychology that is of most interest to you. If you are undecided on an area of interest, you can choose any faculty member in the department as your advisor. For example, you may choose a faculty member you liked as an instructor. You may always feel free to seek advisement from the Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Professor Hannula (hannula@uwm.edu).

Areas of Interest

General: Take a broad range of courses on any topic in psychology (any faculty member would be appropriate)

Neuroscience: role of the brain in behavior

Health Psychology: relationships between psychological/behavioral factors and physical health and illness

Mental Health/Professional: introduction to clinical or counseling psychology (psychological disorders, assessment and treatment)

Area of Interest

Faculty Advisors

Office

Email

Clinical PsychologyProfessor Cahill

Professor Davies

Professor Klein-Tasman

Professor Larson

Professor Lee

Professor Lisdahl

Professor Osmon

Professor Ridley

Professor Shorey
Garland 233

Garland 202C

Garland 238D

Garland 217

Garland 211

Garland 238C

Garland 338

Garland 230

Garland 238B
cahill@uwm.edu

hobart@uwm.edu

bklein@uwm.edu

larsoncl@uwm.edu

leehj@uwm.edu

medinak@uwm.edu

neuropsy@uwm.edu

rridley@uwm.edu

shorey@uwm.edu
Health PsychologyProfessor MerrittGarland 228merrittm@uwm.edu
NeuroscienceProfessor Driscoll

Professor Frick

Professor Greenberg

Professor Hannula

Professor Helmstetter

Professor Moyer

Professor Swain
Garland 314

Garland 202B

Garland 319

Garland 316

Garland 207

Garland 208

Garland 202A
driscoli@uwm.edu

frickk@uwm.edu

agreenb@uwm.edu

hannula@uwm.edu

fjh@uwm.edu

jrmoyer@uwm.edu

rswain@uwm.edu
General PsychologyProfessor Lenz

Professor Lima

Garland 210

Garland 232

plenz@uwm.edu

suelima@uwm.edu

L&S Advisors

Students also have an advisor for non-psychology matters in the College of Letters & Science. To obtain an advisor in the College of Letters and Science, call (414) 229-4654, or visit Holton 142.

Associate Chair of Psychology

Students are encouraged to consult with the Associate Chair of Psychology, Deborah E Hannula (414) 229-4158 or hannula@uwm.edu, who handles all inquiries about undergraduate matters, including course transfers, career options, admission to graduate programs in psychology, course-related questions, and special problems and grievances that arise.

Course Syllabi and Teaching Evaluations

Course syllabi and summaries of faculty teaching evaluations are available to students in the main office of Psychology, Garland 224.