Neuroscience

Neuroscience research at UWM involves students and faculty from several departments as well as psychology. The work being done in the Psychology Department is aimed at understanding the relationships between the functions of the nervous system and behavior/cognition. Faculty use a wide range of techniques with laboratory animals and human subjects study these issues.

Some of the current topics being investigated by psychology faculty include: neural changes following complex motor skill learning, mapping human brain areas involved in memory and emotion with magnetic resonance imaging, interactions between endogenous dopamine and drugs of abuse, characterization of novel antipsychotic compounds, effects of exercise on cerebral blood flow, the role of opioids and other peptides in pain and analgesia, development of aquatic models of drug abuse, and the neural systems analysis of Pavlovian conditioning and defensive behavior. Neuroscience research and training is currently supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health as well as private foundations.

Neuroscience Faculty

Ira Driscoll
Ira Driscoll
Associate Professor
Psychologydriscoli@uwm.edu(414) 229-6665Garland Hall 314
Karyn Frick
Professor
Psychologyfrickk@uwm.edu(414) 229-6615Garland Hall 202B
Adam Greenberg
Adam Greenberg
Assistant Professor
Psychologyagreenb@uwm.edu(414) 229-1106Garland Hall 319
Deborah Hannula
Associate Professor
Psychologyhannula@uwm.edu(414) 229-4158Garland Hall 316
Fred J. Helmstetter
Distinguished Professor
Psychologyfjh@uwm.edu(414) 229-4903Garland Hall 207
Rodney Swain
Rodney Swain
Professor
Psychologyrswain@uwm.edu(414) 229-5895Holton Hall 218

Affiliated Neuroscience Faculty

Tasman Klein
Bonita Klein-Tasman
Professor
Psychologybklein@uwm.edu(414) 229-3060Garland Hall 238D
Christine Larson
Professor
Psychologylarsoncl@uwm.edu(414) 229-4996Garland Hall 217
Dr. Krista Lisdahl
Krista M. Lisdahl
Associate Professor
Psychologymedinak@uwm.edu(414) 229-7159Garland Hall 238C

Behavioral and Systems Neuroscience Labs

Cognitive Neuroscience Labs

Clinical Neuroscience and Neuropsychology Labs