Microbiology

Microorganisms were the first living things on Earth, and they remain the most abundant and the most diverse of all organisms. Microorganisms cause diseases of plants, animals and humans, and play critical roles in biogeochemical cycles and bioremediation, and are also important in the food and biotechnology industries.

Microbiologists in the Department of Biological Sciences use model microorganisms to study bacterial motility and protein localization, bacterial symbiosis and pathogenesis, bacterial respiration, nitrogen fixation, and yeast genetics.

Microbiology Faculty

Sonia L. Bardy
Sonia Bardy
Associate Professor
Biological Sciencesbardy@uwm.edu(414) 229-6415Lapham Hall 464
Madhusudan Dey
Madhusudan Dey
Associate Professor
Biological Sciencesdeym@uwm.edu(414) 229-4309Lapham Hall 460
Steven Forst
Steven Forst
Professor / Graduate Representative
Biological Sciencessforst@uwm.edu(414) 229-6373Lapham Hall 458
Sergei Kuchin
Sergei Kuchin
Associate Professor
Biological Sciencesskuchin@uwm.edu(414) 229-3135Lapham Hall 444
Mark McBride
Mark McBride
Distinguished Professor
Biological Sciencesmcbride@uwm.edu(414) 229-5844Lapham Hall N307
Gyaneshwar Prasad
Gyaneshwar Prasad
Associate Professor
Biological Sciencesprasadg@uwm.edu(414) 229-5298Lapham Hall 440
Daâd A. Saffarini
Daâd Saffarini
Professor
Biological Sciencesdaads@uwm.edu(414) 229-2964Lapham Hall N309
Charles Wimpee
Associate Professor
Biological Sciencescwimpee@uwm.edu(414) 229-6881Lapham Hall S495
Ching-Hong Yang
Professor
Biological Scienceschyang@uwm.edu(414) 229-6331Lapham Hall Lap 131D