Advising

If you think Biology is for you, we encourage you to begin the “Declare Your Major” process. You will be assigned a faculty advisor in your area of interest who will guide you on courses within the major based on your specific and individual interests in Biology and will also be able to help you think about how to tailor your elective choices based on your short- and long-term education/career goals. With early advice and careful planning, you may save yourself time and money, so don’t delay!

  1. The Department offers two options for specialization in the Biological Sciences Major:
    1. Cellular and Molecular Biology (CMB), for those interested in studying the structure and function of organisms and biological processes at the level of cells and the macromolecules that define them (DNA, RNA, proteins, lipids, and carbohydrates).
    2. Ecology, Evolution, and Behavioral Biology (EEB), for those interested in how in exploring the mechanisms governing interactions among organisms and between organisms and their environment.
  2. The Department also offers a Major in Microbiology (Micro), for those interested in studying the genetics and molecular biology of microorganisms (such as bacteria, archaea, fungi) and viruses, and the roles they play in human, animal, and plant health and disease, as well as in biotechnology.
  3. If all of the above options sound exciting and you want to explore diverse interests, there is also the Biological Sciences Flexible Option (Flex).

This advising workbook is available to help you and your advisor in planning and marking your progress in the major. If you can, we encourage you to choose the appropriate tab and fill it out to the best of your ability before meeting with your assigned advisor.

If you are still in the admissions process and not yet a UWM student, please schedule an appointment with an admissions counselor by calling (414) 229-7711 or emailing let-sci@uwm.edu.

Flexible Option Biological Sciences Advisors

Any advisor listed below can serve as an advisor for the Flexible Option.

Cell and Molecular Biology Option Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Gutzman, Jennifer Cell & Developmental Biology N515 gutzman@uwm.edu
Quinn, Christopher Developmental Neurobiology N413 quinnc@uwm.edu
Udvadia, Ava Neuroscience N521 audvadia@uwm.edu
Zhao, Dazhong Molecular Genetics 462 dzhao@uwm.edu

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior Option Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Alberto, Filipe Marine Biology S575 albertof@uwm.edu
Berges, John Marine Biology S587 berges@uwm.edu
Dunn, Peter Behavioral Ecology S497 pdunn@uwm.edu
Hoebel, Gerlinde Behavioral Ecology S299 hoebel@uwm.edu
Karron, Jeffrey Plant Ecology S585 karron@uwm.edu
Latch, Emily Population Genetics N215 latch@uwm.edu
Rodríguez, Rafael Behavioral Ecology S295 rafa@uwm.edu
Strickler, Rudi Ecology Water Inst. 137 jrs@uwm.edu
Young, Erica Plant Biology S593 ebyoung@uwm.edu

Microbiology Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Bardy, Sonia  Bacterial pathogenesis 464 bardy@uwm.edu
Dey, Madhusudan Yeast genetics and molecular biology 460 deym@uwm.edu
Forst, Steven Host-microbe interactions 458 sforst@uwm.edu
Kuchin, Sergei Yeast genetics and molecular biology 442 skuchin@uwm.edu
McBride, Mark Bacterial motility and pathogenesis N307 mcbride@uwm.edu
Prasad, Gyaneshwar Plant-microbe interactions 440 prasadg@uwm.edu
Saffarini, Daâd Bacterial respiration and pathogenesis N309 daads@uwm.edu
Yang, Ching-Hong Plant-pathogen interactions 181 chyang@uwm.edu