Department of Biological Sciences Awards and Scholarships

20140425_Biology_0017Leah Uecker receives the Ruth I. Walker Undergraduate Tuition Award.

The Department of Biological Sciences awards 25-30 scholarships each year to undergraduate and graduate biology students totaling more than $25,000. Recipients of these scholarships are honored during the annual departmental awards ceremony that is usually held in Spring. For additional information and application material, we encourage you to check the biology home page periodically for announcements. We also email students periodically with information regarding scholarships and awards, so it is important to check your UWM email account regularly.

Awards and Scholarships

Ruth Walker Awards

  • Tuition scholarships to continuing undergraduates majoring in Biological Sciences or Environmental Sciences.
  • Awards to graduating seniors majoring in Biological Sciences or Environmental Sciences based on overall scholarship and/or an independent study projects.
  • Grants-in-Aid for graduate or undergraduate students to pursue their academic or research activities.

A native of Michigan, Ruth Walker earned her Doctor of Philosophy degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1926. She came to Milwaukee in 1931 as an botany instructor at the former University of Wisconsin Extension Center. Following the merger of the Milwaukee Extension and Wisconsin State College, which created UWM in 1956, Dr. Walker served as Chair of the Botany Department until 1960. Throughout her career, Dr. Walker was devoted to teaching, research, and service to the University. She was internationally recognized for her research in cytology and embryo development. Upon her death in 1962, friends and colleagues established the Ruth I. Walker Memorial Scholarship Fund. In 1990, the Walker Fund was significantly enhanced by a gift from the estate of her sister, Jessie M. Walker.

Hutto-Erdman Conservation Scholarship

  • This award is given to undergraduates (Jr standing or above) in Conservation or Environmental Studies.

The Hutto-Erdmann Conservation Scholarship has been offered to undergraduate students in conservation or environmental studies since 1972, when the Aldo Leopold Conservation Club provided an initial endowment in memory of Neville B. Hutto and Jerry W. Erdmann. The fund has been augumented by additional donations over the years.

Ray Hatcher Memorial Award

  • Undergraduate (Jr standing or above) and graduate students conducting research in Botany are eligible.

Ray Hatcher was an Illinois native who received his Ph.D. at the University of Cincinnati in 1959 and shortly thereafter joined UWM as an assistant professor in the Department of Botany. His research specialty was bryophytes and he traveled widely in the United States, New Zealand, and South America, to collect specimens. Dr. Hatcher contributed to the planning and establishment of the UWM graduate program in Botany. Dr. Hatcher was also a gifted musician who played violin and guitar. Dr. Hatcher died very unexpectedly in 1967 at the age of 36.

Ivy Balsam-Milwaukee Audubon Society Award

  • Undergraduate (Jr. standing or above) and graduate students majoring in Biological Sciences or Environmental Studies with an interest in and contribution to Conservation should apply.

The Ivy Balsam-Milwaukee Audubon Society Scholarship fund was established in 1982, to be given annually to students who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in some phase of natural science and with an interest in the contribution to conservation. Ivy Balsam was a former board member of the Milwaukee Audubon Society.

James D. Anthony Award

  • Undergraduate (Jr. standing or above) and graduate students in Animal Biology. Minimum GPA = 3.25.

James D. Anthony a graduate of the University of Michigan joined UWM in 1954 as professor of zoology. In addition to teaching and research in parasitology–Dr. Anthony chaired the Zoology Department for three years and was involved in the Medical Technology Program. Dr. Anthony was politically active in local government and served as Menomonee Falls trustee for ten years and as village president for four. He died in 1976.

How to Apply

Information about the awards can be obtained from the Department of Biological Sciences office in Lapham S181 Lapham Hall. Please revisit this page for dates and application forms.

**The number of awards and amounts vary.**