CLACS 2016-17 Student Awards

With the conclusion of the 2016-2017 academic year, the UWM Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies is proud to announce this year’s student award winners.  CLACS awarded over $78,000 in Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Grants to support twenty-one undergraduate and graduate students.


The Undergraduate Donald R. Shea Scholarship may be used for UWM sponsored semester-long or short-term study abroad in the Latin American/Caribbean region, and for other academic opportunities in the region that can be accepted for UWM credit.

2016-2017 Recipients

Madeleine Jaekels, BA, International Studies, Africology & LACS (Belize, Summer Study Abroad)

Tina Murry, BSN, Nursing (Ecuador, Summer Study Abroad)


Travel Grants are offered to UWM graduate or advanced undergraduate students who have a research proposal or paper presentation that focuses on the Latin American/Caribbean region.

2016-2017 Recipients

Elaine Basa, PhD, English (Annual Conference of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies, Presentation)

Katelyn Bockwoldt, MS, Freshwater Sciences (Mexico, Research)

Shoua Lee, MA, Economics (Argentina, Research)

Nicholas Padilla, PhD, Geography (Annual Meeting of the American Association of Geographers, Presentation)

Kathryn Pauls, PhD, Geosciences (Argentina, Research)

Christopher Suchocki, MS, Freshwater Sciences (Mexico, Research)

Shane Thomas, MS, Sustainable Peacebuilding (Guatemala, Research)


The Undergraduate and Graduate Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships through funding from the U.S. Department of Education, are available for select undergraduate students for academic year study of intermediate or higher level Portuguese language in combination with area studies courses, and for graduate students for summer intensive Portuguese, Haitian Creole, or indigenous languages of Latin America.

2017 Undergraduate Recipients (for study 2017-2018)

Eduardo Jiménez, BA, Spanish (Portuguese)

Nia Wilson, BA, Journalism and Studio Art (Portuguese, Spring Semester at PUC-Rio

2017 Graduate Recipients

Samantha Hagle, MA, Political Science (University of Chicago, Accelerated Portuguese)

Cheri Price, PhD, Anthropology (San Diego State University, Mixtec)

Gurkirat Sekhon, MS, Secondary Education (University of Chicago, Accelerated Portuguese)


The Tinker Field Research Award, in partnership with the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Office of Sponsored Research and Graduate School, supports pre-dissertation graduate student field research in Spanish- or Portuguese-speaking countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Funding is provided by the Tinker Foundation and UWM’s Office of Sponsored Research and Graduate School.

2017 Recipients

Arcadio Bolaños, MA, Spanish (Peru)

Kate Gigstad, MS, Geosciences (Argentina)

Amy Klemmer, MS, Anthropology (Ecuador)

Giselle Mejia, MFA, Dance (Colombia)

Kathryn Pauls, PhD, Geosciences (Argentina)

Estrella Sotomayor, PhD, History and Women’s and Gender Studies (Puerto Rico)


The Kristin Ruggiero and Howard Handelman Field Research Award supports advanced undergraduate and graduate field research. It is named after Professor Emerita Dr. Kristin Ruggiero, the Director of the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies from 1999 until 2015, and Professor Emeritus Dr. Howard Handelman, Director of the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies from 1994 until 1999.

2017 Recipient

     Tarryl Janik, MS, Anthropology (Guyana)


Congratulations to all the award recipients, and the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies wishes you the best in your studies.