2016 Emmy Nomination for Richard Horowitz

Richard Horowitz, a UWM English Lecturer, has been nominated for a 2016 Chicago-Midwest Emmy by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The nomination is in recognition of Horowitz’s weekly commentaries for “InterCHANGE,” MPTV’s recently departed public-affairs show, in… Read More

Meg Noodin Receives 2016 Office of Research / UWM Foundation Research Award

Congratulations to Meg Noodin who is a recipient of a 2016 Office of Research/UWM Foundation Research Award. These awards are given each year in recognition of the achievements of UWM Assistant and Associate Professors in research and creative activity.  Along with other awardees, Meg will… Read More

Scott Graham Receives Fellows’ Early Career Award from Rhetoric Society of America

Congratulations to Scott Graham for receiving the Fellows’ Early Career Award from the Rhetoric Society of America. The award honors a current member of the Rhetoric Society of America who has established an innovative and robust research record within eight years… Read More

Shanae Martinez Receives Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award

Congratulations to Shanae Martinez who was selected by the graduate school to receive the Dr. Tomás Garrett-Rosas Research Award!

Valerie Laken, Sukanya Banerjee, Brenda Cárdenas, and Liam Callanan Receive Faculty Teaching Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s faculty teaching awards. These colleagues were selected in recognition of their exceptional record of teaching as well as broader contributions to our department.  The members of the merit committee who reviewed teaching materials (A. Martin, Moulthrop,… Read More

Sukanya Banerjee and Tasha Oren Receive Research and Creative Activities Support Award

The English Department extends its congratulations to colleagues receiving support through the Graduate School’s RACAS program (Research and Creative Activities Awards) for 2016-17: Sukanya Banerjee Tasha Oren

Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen Receive Award for Teaching Excellence

Congratulations to Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen who were selected as recipients of Awards for Teaching Excellence. Individuals are considered for this honor on the basis of nominations from their peers. From this initial balloting, it was clear how much these instructors… Read More

Sukanya Banerjee and Jason Puskar Receive Institute for Research in the Humanities Fellowships

Congratulations to Professors Sukanya Banerjee and Jason Puskar! They were awarded UW System Fellowships at the Institute for Research in the Humanities, UW-Madison, in the 2016-17 academic year. To find out more about the Institute for Research in the Humanities Fellowships, visit http://irh.wisc.edu/fellowships.

Siwar Masannat Wins Women’s & Gender Studies Student Research Paper and Project Contest

Congratulations to Creative Writing doctoral student Siwar Masannat! Siwar has won a graduate award in the Women’s & Gender Studies Student Research Paper and Project Contest for her term paper: The New Woman in the Egyptian Press: 1900-1930.       

UWM Alum Rene Steinke Receives 2016 Guggenheim Fellowship for Fiction

Congratulations to Rene Steinke, who received a 2016 Guggenheim Fellowship for Fiction! Steinke is the author of three novels: The Fires, Holy Skirts, and Friendswood. Holy Skirts was a finalist in 2005 for the National Book Award. Rene received her PhD in… Read More