close up of battery terminals

Professor Deyang Qu, Johnson Controls Endowed Professors in Energy Storage Research, chairs the mechanical engineering department. He specializes in renewable energy. He leads a multi-talented faculty that span a range of research around:

  • Biomimetic surfaces
  • Design optimization
  • Marine robotics
  • Nanotribology
  • Sustainable design and manufacturing
  • Technology innovation and entrepreneurship
Industry Advisory Board Members
  • Robert Ballmer, UWM College of Engineering & Applied Science
  • Mike Baran, Rockwell Automation
  • Bill Bonneau, GE Healthcare
  • Bob Doldig, Custom Wire Tech
  • Jim Edgar
  • Janice Fitzgerald
  • Willi Hampel, GE Healthcare
  • Avie Judes, UWM College of Engineering & Applied Science
  • Mark Juds, IEEE
  • Garron Morris
  • Josh Rayeske, STRATTEC
  • Adam Rolinski, Harley-Davidson


Contact Info:

Street Address
College of Engineering & Applied Science
3200 North Cramer Street
Milwaukee, WI 53211

Mailing Address
College of Engineering & Applied Science
P.O. Box 784
Milwaukee, WI 53201-0784

Researcher Highlights

  • Ryoichi Amano: Industrial Assessment Center, energy
  • Ilya Avdeev: Lubar Entrepreneurship Center, Milwaukee I-Corps Program, Lean-Launch, Student Start-up Challenge, human-centered design
  • Woo Jin Chang: COVID-19 sampling
  • Michael Nosonovsky: Tribology
  • Krishna Pillai: Flow and transport in porous media
  • Habib Rahman: robotic assistive devices including exoskeletons
  • John Reisel: Laser diagnostics of combustion process, alternative fuels
  • Kevin J. Renken: Computational and experimental methods in heat/mass transfer, radon entry dynamics and reduction technology, academic freedom and free speech
  • Pradeep Rohatgi: UWM Composite Center, foundry technology, energy conservation and sustainability
  • Nathan Salowitz: mechanical sensors and actuators, intelligent/multifunctional materials
  • Nathaniel Stern: art and engineering, Student Start-up Challenge
  • Yongjin Sung: 4D and snapshot tomography, 2-D imaging flow cytometry


Ryo Amano
  • Richard and Joanne Grigg Faculty Fellowship
  • Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Director, Industrial Assessment Center (IAC)
Ilya Avdeev
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Founder and Director, Advanced Manufacturing and Design Laboratory
  • Co-Founder and Executive Director, UWM Student Startup Challenge
  • Director (PI), Milwaukee Regional Energy Education Initiative
faculty image woo-jin-chang
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Roshan D'Souza
  • Alan D. Kulwicki '77 Faculty Fellowship
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Avie Judes
  • CEAS Lab Manager
  • Lab Manager, Makerspace
Michael Nosonovsky
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Krishna Pillai
  • Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Deyang Qu
  • Johnson Controls Endowed Professor in Energy Storage Research
  • Department Chair, Mechanical Engineering
Mohammad Rahman
  • Richard and Joanne Grigg Professorship
  • Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering & Mechanical Engineering
  • Director, Biorobotics Lab
  • Affiliate Professor, Computer Science
John Reisel
  • Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Secretary of the University
Kevin Renkin
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Pradeep Rohatgi
  • Distinguished Professor, Materials Science and Engineering Department
  • Distinguished Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Director, Center for Advanced Manufacture of Materials
Nathan Salawitz
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Founder, Advanced Structures Laboratory
Nathaniel Stern
  • Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Professor, Art & Design
  • Director, Student Startup Challenge
faculty member yongjin sung
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Mohamed Yahiaoui
  • Lecturer, Mechanical Engineering