CLACS 2022-23 Award Recipients

We’re pleased to announce that we supported 41 UWM faculty, UWM students, and regional faculty with over $68,000 in funding this academic year. Funding went to conference presentations, field research, and less-commonly taught language studies.

Congratulations to all of our faculty and student awardees. Keep up the great work!

Student Awards

We have awarded over $58,000 in funding to 21 undergraduate and graduate students during this academic year:

Graduate Research-Conference Award

  • Stephen Boluwaduro (African & African Diaspora Studies)
  • Luciana Decker Orozco (Peck School of the Arts-Film)
  • Ignacio Echeverria Perez Foncea (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Jeydelyn Martinez (Masters of Sustainable Peacebuilding)
  • Natalie McNall (Geosciences)
  • Vitalis Nwashindu (History)
  • Emily Quesada-Glanz (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Georgina Rausi Lopez (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Antonio Rubio Martinez (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Jolynn Woehrer (Spanish & Portuguese)

Ruggiero-Handelman Field Research Award

  • Emmanuel Guerra (Art & Design)
  • Billie Harrison (Biological Sciences)
  • Reagan Herdt (Anthropology)
  • Erica Phillips (Anthropology)

Donald Shea Study Abroad Scholarship

  • Samantha Danczyk (History)
  • Livia Klechefski (Geography)
  • Anne Ravanelli (Global Studies)

Foreign Language & Area Studies Summer 2023 Graduate Students

  • Michele Haeberlin, Spanish & Portuguese (Tulane University & Vanderbilt University, K’iche’ Maya)
  • Jeydelyn Martinez, Masters of Sustainable Peacebuilding (Tulane University & Vanderbilt University, Portuguese)

Foreign Language & Area Studies AY 2023-24 Undergraduate Students

  • Sophia Kvalheim (Spanish)
  • Yanelis Santiago (Psychology)


UWM Faculty Research-Conference Awards

We’ve awarded over $6,000 to 11 UWM faculty and teaching academic staff for their field research/presentations:

  • Susana Antunes (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Nancy Bird-Soto (Spanish & Portuguese)
  • Gilberto Blasini (English/Film Studies)
  • Sarah Davies Cordova (French Italian & Comparative Literature)
  • John Isbell (Geosciences)
  • Andy Miller (Dance)
  • Brian Mueller (History)
  • Kristin Pitt (Womens’ and Gender Studies)
  • Ermitte Saint Jacques (African and African Diaspora Studies)
  • Dante Salto (Administrative Leadership)
  • Estrella Sotomayor (Spanish & Portuguese)

Regional Faculty Research-Conference Awards

9 Regional Faculty received support for their field research and conference presentations, totaling $4,500!

  • Analisa DeGrave (Latin American and Latinx Studies, UW-Eau Claire)
  • Jeff DeGrave (Latin American and Latinx Studies, UW-Eau Claire)
  • Pedro dos Santos (Political Science, College of St. Benedict and St. John’s University)
  • Bonar Hernández (History, Iowa State University)
  • Alexandre Martins (Theology, Marquette University)
  • Benjamin Narvaez (History, University of Minnesota Morris)
  • Brian Palmer-Rubin (Political Science, Marquette University)
  • Julia Paulk (Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Marquette University)
  • Monica Unda-Gutierrez (Political Science/Economics, Marquette University)