About

  • UWM Film Graduate Program

Create

Our undergraduate program of study is committed to helping students develop their creative, conceptual and technical abilities through media: film, video, audio, installation, and new genres. Our goal is for you to become a creative thinker, an informed viewer and an art maker — someone whose imaginative skills are matched by an ability to learn and use the technologies to say something important.

Our students participate in every aspect of the filmmaking process to better understand how every role works together. This holistic approach prepares our graduates to enter the film industry with a high level of professionalism and employability.

Collaborate

Our students benefit from dedicated attention by internationally-recognized faculty, and access to resources at one of the nation’s top 115 research universities. Our program maintains artistic and intellectual connections within the university and the community, including partnerships with the Milwaukee Film Festival, Wisconsin Film Festival, Milwaukee Art Museum, UWM Union Cinema, and beyond.

UWM’s Union Cinema is one of 23 theaters nationally recognized as a local community based independent theater by the Sundance Film Institute Art House Project. “These theaters meet high standards including: quality programming, deep involvement with their local communities, strong financial standing and recognition from their peers.” According to the project: “Since 1972 the Union Cinema has been providing UWM and the local community with a diverse, entertaining, and intellectually engaging film and video program.”

Apply Now

Degrees

Explore – Specific degree information can be found in the UWM Academic Catalog along with credits, courses, admission and program requirements. See course descriptions for more detailed information.

Expand – A successful Foundation Review is required after completion of foundation coursework in order to proceed with the BFA curriculum.

BFA – Film

Minor – Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Careers+Alumni

Profile Picture

Caroline Kastelic

BFA, Film | 2006

"I enjoyed that I could create my own world and do things on my own schedule. And I liked the isolation and control you can get by not using actors." Caroline Kastelic on working with puppets and stop motion animation.

Careers in Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

3D Modeler
Adr Editor
Advertising & Sales
Aerial Cinematographer
Animator
Art Director
Artist
Arts Administration
Assistant Director
Best Boy
Boom Operator
Broadcast Producer
Camera Operator
Casting Director
Character Rigger
Cinematographer
Client Services Supervisor
Colorist
Compositing Artist
Copywriter
Creature Designer
Curator/Programmer
Development Executive
Digital Account Executive
Digital Imaging Technician
Digital Media Product Developer
Director
Distributor
Dolly Grip
Drone Operator
Dubbing Mixer
Editor
Educational Video Director/Producer
Electrician
Electronics & Sensor Designer
Elementary/Secondary School Teacher
Entertainment/Studio Executive
Exhibitor
Festival Director/Programmer
Field Segment Producer
Film Archivist/Processor/Writer
Filmmaker
Fixer
Foley Specialist
Forensic Animator
Gaffer
Image Librarian/Archivist
Interaction Designer
Jimmy Jib Operator
Key Grip
Lighting Designer/Technician
Line Producer
Location Manager/Scout
Medical Animator
Motion Capture Engineer
Motion Graphics Designer/Producer
Multimedia Artist/Journalist/Producer
News Producer
Photo Asset Manager/Instructor/Editor
Photographic Labs/Image Producer
Photojournalist
Post-Production Supervisor
Press Agent
Producer (Television & Film)
Production Designer/Manager
Programming & Software Designer
Prop Maker
Properties Producer
Public Relations/Publicist
Publisher
Puppet Fabricator
Reality Programming Director
Recording & Mastering Engineer
Researcher
Rights & Clearances
Rotoscope Artist
Screenwriter
Script Editor/Supervisor/Writer
Set Constructor/Designer/Director
Social Media Specialist
Sound Designer/Editor/Mixer
Steadicam Operator
Still Photography
Stop Motion Animator
Storyboard Artist
Studio Merchandiser
Talent Producer
Technical Illustrator/Writer
Texture Artist
University Administration
University Faculty
Videographer
Visual Effect Specialist/Supervisor
Wardrobe Supervisor
Web Producer
Webisode Writer/Researcher

Faculty

Faculty: Film, Video, Animation, & New Genres

profile photoBen Balcombrbalcom@uwm.eduMitchell B55-C

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoBill Berens(414) 229-3905berens@uwm.eduMitchell B57

Technical Director, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoDick Blaudickblau@uwm.eduKenilworth Square East 491

Professor Emeritus, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoCarl Bognercrlelbog@uwm.eduMitchell B69A

Senior Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Director, MKE LGBT Film/Video Festival

profile photoIsaac Brooks(414) 229-3905ibrooks@uwm.eduMitchell B57

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Technical Assistant, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoTate Bunkertateb@uwm.eduMitchell B73C

Senior Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Director, Zen Film Festival

profile photoEmir Cakarozecakaroz@uwm.eduMitchell B55B

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoPortia Cobbpcobb@uwm.eduMitchell B73A

Associate Professor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Director, Community Media Project

profile photoCecelia Conditccondit@uwm.eduMitchell B83B

Professor Emeritus, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoTim Deckerdecker@uwm.eduKenilworth Square East 455

Lecturer, Animation

profile photoLori Felkerfelker@uwm.eduMitchell B83

Assistant Professor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Director, Milwaukee Underground Film Festival

profile photoNeil Gravandernbg@uwm.eduMitchell B53

Associate Lecturer, Film

profile photoHannah Raye White Hamalianhrwhite@uwm.edu

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoSky Hopinkashopinka@uwm.edu

Associate Lecturer,  Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoSean Kaferskafer@uwm.eduMitchell B83B

Project Director, docUWM

Lecturer & Project Director, docUWM

profile photoKelly Kirshtnerkirshtne@uwm.eduMitchell B73B

Associate Professor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoOwen Klatteklatte@uwm.eduKenilworth Square East 492

Associate Lecturer, Animation

profile photoJeffrey Kurzjpkurz@uwm.eduMitchell B83-B

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoRachel Lanerelane@uwm.edu

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoBrian James McGuiremcguireb@uwm.eduMitchell B55

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoJesse McLeanmcleanj@uwm.eduMitchell B83

Associate Professor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Director, Film Graduate Program

profile photoKelly Minkkmink@uwm.edu

Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoBrooke Thieleswelstad@uwm.eduMitchell B54

Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Manager, Equipment Room

Coordinator, Animation B.A.

profile photoAlex Torinusatorinus@uwm.eduMitchell B69

Senior Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Outreach Coordinator, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Living & Learning Community Coordinator, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoRenato Umalirumali@uwm.eduMitchell B83A

Senior Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoJanelle VanderKelenvanderk8@uwm.edu

Associate Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoLilly Warrenlillyjc2@uwm.eduMitchell B69

Senior Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Outreach Coordinator, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Undergraduate Advisor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoSteve Wetzel(414) 391-2955swetzel@uwm.eduMitchell B83C

Associate Professor, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Department Chair, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

profile photoDavid Witzlingdavidrw3@uwm.eduMitchell B83A

Lecturer, Film, Video, Animation and New Genres

Department Faculty & Staff