2023 Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year Nominees

18 UWM Faculty and Staff have been nominated by students as the Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. The winner will be announced at the Undergraduate Research Symposium on Friday, April 28th at 12pm in the Union Ballroom, and will receive a plaque and $500 in supply funding to support their research.


Alexander Arnold, Chemistry & Biochemistry
William Bristow, Philosophy
Dong-Fang Deng, Freshwater Sciences
Shannon Freire, Anthropology
Rob Graziano, Geosciences
Pamela Harris, Mathematics
Jeana Holt, Nursing
Hanjoo Lee, Psychology
Krista Lisdahl, Psychology
Xiaoli Ma, Materials Science & Engineering
Gabriela Nagy, Psychology
Phillip Owens, College of General Studies
Chanyeop Park, Electrical Engineering
Priyatha Premnath, Biomedical Engineering
Amanda Seligman, History
Lane Sunwall, Honors
Jing Yang, Communication Sciences & Disorders
Erica Young, Biological Sciences

Past winners:

2013: J. Rudi Strickler (Biological Sciences)
2014: Henry Tomasiewicz (Freshwater Sciences)
2015: Gabriella Pinter (Mathematics)
2016: Douglas Steeber (Biological Sciences)
2017: Arijit Sen (Architecture and Urban Planning)
2018: Karyn Frick (Psychology)
2019: Jennifer Gutzman (Biological Sciences)
2020: Dawn Erb (Physics)
2021: Dong-Feng Deng (Freshwater Sciences)
2022: Nathaniel Stern (Art & Design)