UWM Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year: Shannon Freire

Thank you to all of the faculty, staff and graduate students who have served as research mentors to our undergraduate students.

The winner of this year’s UWM Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year Award is Shannon Freire, Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology. 

Comments from Shannon’s nominations include: “My mentor is always liberal with her time, her knowledge and her openness for discussion.” “She inspires an ethos of trust, humbleness and respect in her student mentees, and encourages us to be great not just as researchers, but as colleagues to our SURF cohort, as students, and as individuals in our field.” “Getting to be her mentee has been a privilege –  one that has made me feel like a true part of UWM’s community.” Congratulations, Shannon!

18 faculty and staff were nominated for this year’s award. Congratulations to all nominees:

Alexander Arnold, Chemistry & Biochemistry
William Bristow, Philosophy
Dong-Fang Deng, Freshwater Sciences
Shannon Freire, Anthropology
Rob Graziano, Geosciences
Pamela Harris, Mathematics
Jeana Holt, Nursing
Hanjoo Lee, Psychology
Krista Lisdahl, Psychology
Xiaoli Ma, Materials Science & Engineering
Gabriela Nagy, Psychology
Phillip Owens, College of General Studies
Chanyeop Park, Electrical Engineering
Priyatha Premnath, Biomedical Engineering
Amanda Seligman, History
Lane Sunwall, Honors and CETL
Jing Yang, Communication Sciences & Disorders
Erica Young, Biological Sciences