Scholarships and Awards

For more information about scholarships and awards available specifically to Political Science majors, please contact your faculty advisor in Political Science or Kathy Krueger in the Political Science main office.

Students are also encouraged to research all scholarship opportunities available through the Office of Financial Aid and the College of Letters & Science Dean’s Office.

Michael C. LeMay Political Science Scholarship

Political Science undergraduate majors who meet the following criteria should apply for the Michael C. LeMay Scholarship:

  • declared major in Political Science
  • minimum 3.25 cumulative GPA and minimum 3.25 GPA in all courses for the political science major

Applications are being accepted through 11:59:59 pm on Tuesday, May 14, 2019. Complete the online application and submit an essay addressing why you are a political science major (two pages maximum). One $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to be paid over the Fall 2019 and Spring 2020 semesters ($500 each semester).

Helen A. Berry Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship provides financial assistance to students with demonstrated financial need who participate in the Washington Center Internship Program. This D.C. experience includes coursework and hands-on experience for students interested in government, business or nonprofit careers. Internship sites vary and are tailored to the students interest. Program fees vary from approximately $11,500 to $15,000 (including housing), and this scholarship may cover up to $7,500. Preference is given to students from historically underrepresented groups.

Russell Bonfiglio Scholarship

This unique scholarship is given to a former UWM political science student who is admitted to, and attending his/her first semester of classes at, UW-Madison Law School. The recipient will be selected based on law school admissions status, LSAT score, overall academic achievement while at UWM, letters of recommendation, and potential for service to the community.

Wilder Crane Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is given to a student with demonstrated high academic achievement engaged in graduate studies in political science.