The Student Success Collaborative (SSC), first piloted at UWM in February 2014, combines technology, research, process improvement and predictive analytics to help UWM positively affect student outcomes. By accessing and analyzing academic data, the Collaborative unlocks insights about patterns of student success. These insights allow advisors and faculty to have earlier, more proactive, and more data-driven conversations with students.

Key ways the SSC can benefit UWM

  • Supports the focus on retention and student success among advisors, academic departments and colleges
  • Leverages “big data” by analyzing past student performance at UWM with the goal of identifying where students tend to get stuck or slowed down on their way to graduation, and to find the pathways and support services that most enable a student to be successful
  • Provides students and advisors course and academic major success metrics including alternative course and academic major trajectories.

Need help? Contact the SSC SWAT (Special Weapons And Tactics) Team

The SSC SWAT team is comprised of advisors from across campus who meet monthly to share and exchange ideas  and  how best to utilize the SSC at UWM.  They act as both an end-user and leadership team for the SSC.  They are also a great resource for others  on campus who need help in getting the most out of the tool  You can reach out to them directly as individuals or you can reach out to the group by contacting Gesele Durham.

 Name S/C Email
 Jennifer Derouche  L&S jderoche@uwm.edu
 Gwyn Wallander  L&S gwyn@uwm.edu
 Dana Northrup  L&S northrup@uwm.edu
 Ian McLaughlin  L&S mclaughi@uwm.edu
 James Hardy  Business jhardy@uwm.edu
 Shelly Bednar  Arts sbednar@uwm.edu
 Tina Current CEAS currentt@uwm.edu
 Travis Jones AOC travisj@uwm.edu
 Joel Spiess CHS jpspiess@uwm.edu
 Terry Paape SOE tpaape@uwm.edu
 Ebony Cobb Nursing efcobb@uwm.edu
 Tammy Taylor SARUP ttaylor@uwm.edu

 

Education Advisory Board SSC Dedicated Consultant

Emily Sentz (ESentz@eab.com)
Emily serves as the consultant for the UWM instance of the SSC.  She can be contacted at the email noted above for virtually any question regarding the SSC.  Emily also offers webinars and call in sessions to the SSC user community.  If you need help getting set up with the SSC as a user or want to be included in the webinars, etc., please contact Emily for assistance.

Spring 2015 Events

Opens Labs:

  • Tues., Feb. 10, 1:00-2:30 p.m., Bolton 293
  • Thurs., Feb. 19, 2:00-3:30 p.m., Bolton 293
  • Fri., Feb. 27, 9:30-11:00 a.m., Bolton 293

Spring Webinar Series:

  • Fri., March 6:  What Your Institution Needs to Know about the “Murky Middle”, Northwest Quad Lab 1990, 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
  • Fri., March 27:  Defining, Identifying, and Creating Targeted Campaigns for At-Risk Students, Northwest Quad Lab 1990, 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
  • Fri., May 22:  Understanding the SSC Predictive Model, Northwest Quad Lab 1990, 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

SSC Technical Support/Data Transfer

Provided by Tom Lemke and Ed Melchior (UITS)

Additional Questions & Information

Questions regarding the Collaborative at UWM can be directed to Gesele Durham. Additional information regarding the collaborative can be found here or by visiting the Student Success Collaborative website at the Education Advisory Board at: http://www.eab.com/Technology/Student-Success-Collaborative.

SSC Implementation Timeline at UWM

November 5-6, 2013: SSC Visit and Pilot Kick-off
Participating Schools/Colleges and Designated Advisors
Peck School of the Arts: Louis Molina and Shelly Bednar
Letters and Science: Ian McLaughlin, Laura Stark, Gwyn Wallander, and Lori Fitzenberger
College of Nursing: Deatra Holloway and Donna Wier
School of Information Studies: Toby Deutsch and Angie Sadowsky
February, 2014: Pilot Conducted
March, 2014: After consideration of advisor feedback and senior leadership deliberation, decision to purchase SSC
July, 2014: Campus-wide advisor training and full implementation