• All face-to-face classes and on-campus activities are canceled on Tuesday, Jan. 26 at all three UWM campuses. Read more here.

  • Visit our COVID-19 website for information about UWM’s response to the pandemic.

Spring 2020 Colloquia

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Jennifer Breceda, Milwaukee Riverkeeper
Title: Issues Impacting Milwaukee’s Waterways: ‘How do we get to ‘Swimmable, Fishable, Drinkable?’
Host: Paradis
Abstract:

Thursday, January 30, 2020

Cheryl Nenn, Milwaukee Riverfront
Title: The State of Milwaukee’s Rivers: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Host: Paradis
Abstract:

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Harris Byers, Stantec
Title: Accumulation of Lead in Vegetables Grown in Metals Rich Soil – A Health Risk to Children from Urban Agriculture
Host: Grundl
Abstract:

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Peter Flaig, University of Texas-Austin
Title: Archetypal(?) Depositional Systems of the Cretaceous Western Interior Seaway:
Sedimentology, Ichnology, Stratal Architectures, and Controls
Host: Isbell
Abstract:

Thursday, February 27, 2020

David Malone, Illinois State University
Title: The Sand that Built Wisconsin:  The Origin of the Baraboo Quartzite and the Cambro-Ordovician Arenites
Host: Isbell
Abstract:

Thursday, March 5, 2020

Graham Baird, University of Northern Colorado
Title: Deformation of the Diana (Dyanna) Complex in the northwest Adirondacks (NewYork State): Connecting structures to core complex models in the southwest Grenville Province
Host: Czeck
Abstract:

Thursday, March 12, 2020

TBD
Title: TBD
Host: TBD
Abstract:

Thursday, March 19, 2020

No Colloquia, Spring Break

Thursday, March 26, 2020

TBD
Title: TBD
Host: TBD
Abstract:

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Raymond Johnson, US DOE
Title: TBD
Host: Paradis
Abstract:

Thursday, April 9, 2020

Geosciences Career Workshop Featured Presentation

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Joseph Frederickson, UW-Oshkosh
Title: TBD
Host: Schaaefer
Abstract:

Thursday, April 23, 2020

Benjamin Edwards, Dickinson College
Title: TBD
Host: Cameron
Abstract:

Thursday, April 30, 2020

TBD
Title: TBD
Host: TBD
Abstract:

Thursday, May 7, 2020

GSA (North-Central) Practice Talks