Advising

Choose a faculty advisor from the list below by finding someone whose research interests matches or is close to your area of interest. Email him/her directly to set up an initial meeting to discuss your course and career plans. We also encourage you to visit during our open advising days to meet faculty advisors to discuss and get advice on coursework and career plans.

Standard Option Biological Sciences Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Berges, John Marine Biology S587 berges@uwm.edu
Dunn, Peter Behavioral Ecology S497 pdunn@uwm.edu
Ehlinger, Timothy Aquatic Ecology S493 ehlinger@uwm.edu
Karron, Jeffery Plant Ecology S585 karron@uwm.edu
Latch, Emily Population Genetics N215 latch@uwm.edu
Rodríguez, Rafael Behavioral Ecology S295 rafa@uwm.edu
Strickler, Rudi Ecology Water Inst. 137 jrs@uwm.edu
Whittingham, Linda Behavioral Ecology S499 whitting@uwm.edu
Young, Erica Plant Biology S593 ebyoung@uwm.edu

 

Cell & Molecular Biology Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Heathcote, R. David Neuroscience N411 rdh@uwm.edu
Hutz, Reinhold Physiology N509 rjhutz@uwm.edu
Steeber, Douglas Immunology N211 steeber@uwm.edu
Udvadia, Ava Neuroscience SB80 audvadia@uwm.edu
Wejksnora, Peter Molecular Biology 220 pjw@uwm.edu
Wimpee, Charles Molecular Biology S495 cwimpee@uwm.edu
Witten, Jane Neuroscience N409 jlw@uwm.edu
Zhao, Dazhong Molecular Genetics 462 dzhao@uwm.edu

 

Microbiology Advisors

Name Research Area Lapham Office Email
Bardy, Sonia  Bacterial pathogenesis  464 bardy@uwm.edu
Dey, Madhusudan Yeast genetics and molecular biology 460 deym@uwm.edu
Forst, Steven Host-microbe interactions 458 sforst@uwm.edu
Kuchin, Sergei Yeast genetics and molecular biology 442 skuchin@uwm.edu
McBride, Mark Bacterial motility and pathogenesis N307 mcbride@uwm.edu
Prasad, Gyaneshwar Plant-microbe interactions 440 prasadg@uwm.edu
Saffarini, Daâd Bacterial respiration and pathogenesis N309 daads@uwm.edu
Wimpee, Chuck Molecular biology and evolution 486 cwimpee@uwm.edu
Yang, Ching-Hong Plant-pathogen interactions 181 chyang@uwm.edu