The Eta Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is located at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Nursing.

We were chartered in 1984 and will soon be celebrating our 40th anniversary!

Monthly meetings are held the third Thursday every month at 7 p.m. via Zoom. Board meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month at 4 pm via zoom. Please visit us on Facebook.

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is the only Nursing Honor Society in the world. We honor, support and encourage excellence in all realms of nursing. To find out more about STTI please go to

Eta Nu Chapter Group Photo

Organizational Mission / Vision

The mission of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International is to discover how Sigma supports nurses’ efforts to improve the health of the world’s people.

Eta Nu Reflects the Mission and Vision through the following:

  • Eta Nu members contribute to the STTI Leadership

Benefits of your ETA NU Membership

  • Awards and grants
  • Group or individual mentoring
  • Networking

Benefits of your STTI Membership

  • Career assistance: Advance your career, expand your knowledge, or take the next step along your career path.
  • Get connected and stay involved: Connect with other members in person or electronically. Become involved by participating in your chapter, volunteering, or attending events.
  • Continuing nursing education: Develop your professional skill set while earning continuing nursing education credits.
  • Member publications: Read Sigma publications to stay up to date with the latest research and nursing trends.
  • Products, services, and discounts: Take advantage of services, products, and partnerships developed to support you throughout your career.
  • Receive recognition: Recognize those who have contributed to nursing, and receive recognition for your successes.

Sigma Theta Tau Eta Nu Chapter Awards and Grants

Eta Nu presents the following awards at the Annual Induction Ceremony:

  • Excellence in Education Award
  • Excellence in Nursing Practice Award
  • Karen H. Morin Leadership Award
  • Aaron G. Buseh Mentorship Award
  • Sheryl T. Kelber Research Award
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Performance Award
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Performance Award (MN/DNP/PhD)
  • Graduate Student Research Grant

Guidelines for Eta Nu Chapter Recognition Awards and Grants (PDF)

Current Officers – Fall 2022

PresidentJulia Snethen
Vice PresidentJoshua Gwon
Past PresidentRuth Treisman
SecretaryRuth Treisman
Co-TreasurerMiranda Van De Loo
Co-TreasurerPam Treisman
Governance Committee ChairMurad Taani
Governance Committee MemberPaula Lucey
Governance Committee MemberMiranda Van De Loo
Leadership Succession Committee ChairPei-Yun Tsai
Succession Committee MemberRuth Treisman
Membership Involvement Committee ChairPaula Lucey
Membership Involvement Committee MemberKaboni Gondwe
Membership Involvement Committee MemberMarie Graf
46th Annual Biennium DelegateChris Peters, Julia Snethen
Student InternTala Fuad Hatem Abu Zahra
Student InternLeticia Antonio Costa