The ARC Excellence Award recognizes instructional staff members who demonstrate exemplary service to ARC students and staff. These instructors go above and beyond what is required to make courses accessible, maintain professionalism while interacting with ARC students and ARC staff, exercise sensitivity to a diverse student population, integrate or apply universal design principles into instruction or service delivery, and more.

We invite you to nominate these instructors, so that we might honor their dedication and commitment.

Nominations for the 2023-2024 academic year are now open! Deadline to submit is end of day on May 8th.

We will celebrate the Awardees in Fall 2024, and we hope you will attend! Watch for more information as we near September 2024.

2023 ARC Excellence Award Recipients

Awardees not pictured above:

  • Keith Dookeran, Joseph J Zilber College of Public Health
  • Shannon Freire, Anthropology
  • Allison Libbey, Spanish & Portuguese
  • Jill Meyers, Mathematical Sciences

Past Award Recipients

2022 Award Recipients
Shahla AndersCollege of Health Sciences
Sonia BardyBiological Sciences
Rachel Bloom-PojarEnglish
Mary Louise Buley-MeissnerEnglish
Chi ChoCollege of Heath Sciences
Joshua DriscollAnthropology
Krista GrensavitchWomen’s and Gender Studies
Julie KaiserEnglish
Joseph KilroyCollege of General Studies
Matthew KnachelPhilosophy
Charlotte LettelierEnglish
Renee ReckelbergCollege of Health Sciences
Elizabeth RexPeck School of the Arts
Ermitte Saint-JacquesAfrican & African Diaspora Studies
Shinji TakahashiForeign Languages and Literature
2020/2021 Award Recipients
Monna Arvinen-BarrowCollege of Health Sciences
Rachel BaumCollege of Letters & Science-Foreign Languages & Literatures
Kimberly BeckmannPeck School of the Arts
Lisa BergerHelen Bader School of Social Welfare
Marcus BrittonCollege of Letters & Science-Sociology
Lisa CottinghamDepartment of Communication Sciences & Disorders
Amy DeckerPeck School of the Arts
Royce EarnestSchool of Architecture and Urban Planning
Ronald GulottaCollege of General Studies-Social Sciences & Business, Sociology
Daniel HackbarthSchool of Letters & Science-Mathematical Sciences
Kerry HansenCollege of General Studies Student Affairs, TRIO Student Support Services
Jennifer Kahn-PettigrewHelen Bader School of Social Welfare
Amanda NealCollege of Letters & Science-Mathematical Studies
Mark NetzloffCollege of Letters & Science-English
Joseph O’HalloranCollege of Letters & Science-Physics
Dimitri TopitzesHelen Bader School of Social Welfare
2019 Award Recipients
Rachel BaumCenter for Jewish Studies
Anne BondsCollege of Letters and Science
Christine CarlsonCollege of Letters and Science
Kyle EbersoleCollege of Health Sciences
Angel HesselSchool of Education
Gabriel Lopez JauregiSchool of Education
Jamie KovtunFinancial Aid
Molly UbbesenCollege of Letters and Science
Haley ZanglUniversity Housing
2018 Award Recipients
Dylan BarthCenter for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Kari DawsonUniversity Housing
Erma GreenCurriculum and Instruction
Amy MangrichCenter for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
2017 Award Recipients
Matthew HoeppnerMathematical Sciences
Julie KailinSchool of Education
Heather OwenBiological Sciences
Lyndsay Jo SmanzInformation Studies
James TasseTheatre
2016 Award Recipients
Lillian FolkHealth Informatics and Administration
Adam HudsonInformation Studies
Leah RineckMathematical Sciences
Sarah RuderUniversity Relations
Jeb WillenbringMathematical Sciences
2015 Award Recipients
Paul LymanPhysics
Lindsay TimmermanCommunication
Beth TraylorLibrary
2014 Award Recipients
Alan SchwabacherChemistry
Carol HirschmuglElectrical Engineer
Roger SmithOccupational Science
Gina SzabelwskiGeoscience
Robert WoodPhysics
2013 Award Recipients
Raymond FlemingPsych
Lanlan HanChemistry/ Biochemistry
Nicole HeinenPASS
Gloria MillerBusiness Management
Jude RathburnBusiness
Jose TorresSocial Work
Krislyn WorldPSOA Dance
2012 Award Recipients
Richard MontiFLL/ Latin
Ann WilliamsBusiness/ Marketing
Jeanne WagnerSocial Work
Margaret KippSOIS
Susan LimaPsych
Marion AngeloffARC
2011 Award Recipients
Jonathan HanesResearch
Terrance NewellSOIS
Sueyon SeoArab & Asian
Jessica MerezPSOA
Mark MantyhSociology
2010 Award Recipients
Jim BurmeisterAssistant Dean PSOA
Fred HelmstetterPsychology
Jenny WanasekTheatre
Janine KwapisPsychology
Goda MasriInternational Education
2009 Award Recipients
Lauren WilliamsMathematical Sciences
Veronica LuncbackFLL/ German
Christine ConeleaPsychology
Gina Seegers- SzablewskiGeoscience
2008 Award Recipients
Robert BalmerMathematical Engineering
Michael CoonEconomics
Magaly ZeiseSpanish & Portuguese
Kevin JahnkeUITS/Classroom Support
Paul Gunderson, Dave NowakUITS
2007 Award Recipients
Michael HeroMathematical Science
Ryan LefeberSecretary of University
Kimberly CosierArt
Christopher SearsMathematics
David PateSocial Work
2006 Award Recipients
Min ChenN/A
Richard MarcusFinance
Meredith ReitmanGeography
Deborah RenardEducational Psychology
2005 Award Recipients
Charles KrausArt
Beverly BelferMusic
Gloria FreschlChemistry
Robyn RidleyPsychology
2004 Award Recipients
James TasseTheatre
Katy MollerudDeans Office
LeeAnn GarrisonArt
Mary Randolph-FryePsychology
Catherine KayeEnglish as Second Language
Claudia BarretoBiological Science
2003 Award Recipients
Jayson RockElectrical Engineering
Erika SanderHuman Movement Science
Kamil TachmisciogluEconomics
Ahmed MbaliaAfricology
2002 Award Recipients
Linda KrauseArchitecture
Harold HikenMathematics
Michelle Harrell WashingtonLibrary
Judith Rozie-BattleSocial Work
Michael FountainFrench, Italian, Comp Lit
2001 Award Recipients
Helena PyciorHistory
Joseph SmithAdministration
Richard BlauFilm
Lenard LevineElectrical Engineering
John BoatmanEthnic Program Studies
Michael MedoraInstructional Services
2000 Award Recipients
Robert WoodPhysics
Kelly KohlmetzEng & Math Science
Sally LongBiological Science
Leslie Loomis VansenArt
1999 Award Recipients
Corliss PhilabaumPSOA Theater
Theresa ValentinoArt
Renee GratzHealthcare
Brook Burnette-ZacherHistory