Journalism students win national SPJ reporting award

Four UWM student journalists have won a 2016 National Mark of Excellence reporting award from the Society of Professional Journalists for their extensive coverage of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Athletic Department.

The work of student journalists Tisia Muzinga, Paul Willems, Miela Fetaw, and Kristopher Schimmel was chosen the best online sports journalism in the country by SPJ. The student journalists reported and wrote the stories in core journalism courses at UWM and for Media Milwaukee, the online student newspaper produced by students in the Journalism, Advertising, and Media Studies Department at UWM.

Composite image shows four students.
Mark of Excellence winners from UWM are (clockwise, from upper left) Tisia Muzinga, Paul Willems, Miela Fetaw and Kris Schimmel. (Media Milwaukee image)

SPJ will recognize first-place national winners during Excellence in Journalism 2017, Sept. 7-9 in Anaheim, California.

The national SPJ award comes on the heels of UW-Milwaukee student journalists winning eight first-place awards and 20 overall honors at the Milwaukee Press Club banquet in May.

The 2016 Mark of Excellence awards are prestigious. Other national winners this year include students from Yale University, Harvard and others. Muzinga, Fetaw, Schimmel, and Willems were the only Wisconsin student journalists to be national winners this year.

The MOE Awards honor the best of collegiate journalism within a calendar year. National Mark of Excellence Award winners are chosen from the category winners in each of SPJ’s 12 regions, and the awards are judged by journalism professionals.

Media Milwaukee student journalists have now won 50 major college journalism awards in prominent state, regional and national competitions in 2016 in radio, print/online and television categories.

Top Stories