About

  • UWM Film Graduate Program

Collaboration

Our small and mutually supportive group of 10-14 graduate students benefit from dedicated attention by internationally-recognized faculty, and access to resources at one of the nation’s top 115 research universities. Our program maintains artistic and intellectual connections within the university, including partnerships with the departments of Art & Design, Music, Dance, History, Architecture, Anthropology, English, the Center of 21st Century Studies, the Center for International Education, and the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Regional partners include the Milwaukee Film Festival, Wisconsin Film Festival, Milwaukee Art Museum, Madison Museum of Contemporary Art, and Chicago’s Video Data Bank.

Apply Now

Degrees

Specific degree information can be found on the UWM Graduate School website along with advising, courses/credit, and transfer information.

Learn More

Select students can earn a third year of MFA study:

Third Year Residency: Honorific award for students who have both produced creative work at a very high level and have completed strong thesis work.

Third Year Union Cinema Programming: For more details on both third year options, please contact the Director of the Graduate Program in Film, Steve Wetzel, swetzel@uwm.edu.

Careers+Alumni

Profile Picture

Ben Balcom

MFA, Film, Animation, and New Genres | 2015

"Beyond what I knew was happening in Milwaukee, there’s a pretty significant amount of nationwide micro-cinemas and alternative screening rooms that I see Microlights as a real part of. Microlights is a little node on a much larger network and that network is still blossoming." Ben Balcom on his micro-cinema, Microlights.

Faculty

Dedicated Film Graduate Faculty

profile photoDick Blaudickblau@uwm.eduKenilworth Square East 491

Professor Emeritus, Film

profile photoCarl Bognercrlelbog@uwm.eduMitchell B69A

Senior Lecturer, Film

Director, MKE LGBT Film/Video Festival

profile photoPortia Cobbpcobb@uwm.eduMitchell B73A

Associate Professor, Film

Director, Community Media Project

profile photoCecelia Conditccondit@uwm.eduMitchell B83B

Professor, Film

profile photoLori Felkerfelker@uwm.eduMitchell B83

Assistant Professor, Film

profile photoKelly Kirshtnerkirshtne@uwm.eduMitchell B73B

Assistant Professor, Film

profile photoJesse McLeanmcleanj@uwm.eduMitchell B83

Assistant Professor, Film

profile photoSteve Wetzelsmwetzel@uwm.eduMitchell B55D

Assistant Professor, Film

Director, Graduate Film Program

profile photoIverson Whiteiversonw@uwm.eduMitchell B73C

Associate Professor, Film

profile photoRob Yeoroby@uwm.eduMitchell B59

Associate Professor, Film

Department Chair, Film

Film Faculty & Staff