Six UWM alumnae chosen as Women of Influence

Six alumnae of UW-Milwaukee have been chosen by the Milwaukee Business Journal as winners of the 2024 Women of Influence Awards.

The award honors business and community leaders in the Milwaukee metropolitan area who are making the region a better place to live and work. The 30 honorees this year were chosen from 175 nominations.

The UWM alums honored are:

  • Helen Boomsma, executive director of the Schlitz Audubon Nature Center.
  • Lakshmy Nair, president of Tri City National Bank.
  • Lora Strigens, vice president for planning and facilities management at Marquette University.
  • Julie Ellenbecker-Lipsky, president and senior wealth adviser at Ellenbecker Investment Group.
  • Patricia Contreras, vice president of community impact at Rockwell Automation.
  • Stephanie Hacker, executive director of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission.

Also chosen for a Women of Influence honor was Tina Freiburger, dean of the College of Community Engagement and Professions at UWM.

The winners were honored in a special section in the Business Journal’s June 7 issue and at an awards event last week at the Baird Center in downtown Milwaukee.

Top Stories