UWM journalism students racking up awards

Six UW-Milwaukee student journalists have won six first place regional Society of Professional Journalists’ Mark of Excellence awards, and advance to the 2017 Excellence in Journalism competition in Anaheim, Calif.

Seven more UWM journalism stories were finalists in the regional competition, which encompasses Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota. The award winning stories appeared in the student news site Media Milwaukee, where the full list of winners can be found.

In addition, the site itself received the “Best Website” award from Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association, which also conferred its “Best multi-media team reporting” prize on the Milwaukee Media project “How the Mississippi River Valley Turned Red.”  The awards, known as the Eric Sevareid Awards, were presented April 1 at the Midwest Journalism Conference in Minneapolis.

Jessie Garcia Marble, Jane Hampden-Daley, Jessica McBride and Jeff Loomis supervise the work of the award winners in journalism courses at UWM’s Journalism, Advertising and Media Studies Department.


Top Stories