UWM alums honored at teachers event

Three alumni of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s School of Education were among those honored at the Celebrate Teachers and Teaching awards event, held Oct. 10 at Cardinal Stritch University.

The annual event, which started in 2013, is sponsored by the Education Deans of Greater Milwaukee. UWM’s School of Education Dean Alan Shoho of UWM is a member of the group, which includes education leaders from nine local colleges and universities.

This year’s celebration honored teachers who do exemplary work in the area of special education. Heidi Hamilton, a teacher at Arrowhead High School in Hartland, received the Advanced Career Award. Hamilton, a graduate of the University of Notre Dame and Mount Mary universities, earned her teaching certification at UWM. Kaitlyn Moquet of the of the Stellar Collegiate Charter School in Milwaukee was honored with the Early Career Award for teachers who have been in the classroom less than three years.

Krishana Robinson and Kim Bruessel, both of whom earned their master’s degree in exceptional education at UWM, were nominated for the Advanced Career Award. Robinson teaches at Vel R. Phillips School in Wauwatosa and Bruessel teaches at Audubon Technology and Communications Center in Milwaukee.

Danae Davis, executive director of the Milwaukee Succeeds program and a former member of the UW System Board of Regents, was honored with the Champion of Education award.

Top Stories