Scholarships and Awards

The Department of Philosophy offers a small number of scholarships and awards to Philosophy students each year. In addition, the College of Letters & Science offers multiple scholarships for majors within the College, which includes philosophy majors. Most application deadlines are in spring (March & April) for the following school year (i.e. apply in March 2020 for scholarships paid beginning in September 2020).

The scholarship application process for all students and all scholarships begins with UWM’s Scholarship Portal. You will need to complete the general application and the College of Letters & Science application. The College application consists of just one item – upload a copy of your most recent transcript.

Some scholarships require no additional application beyond this general scholarship application and uploaded transcript; students are automatically reviewed for these types of scholarships. You may also see scholarships on your Scholarship Portal dashboard that you can “Apply To.” These are scholarships which do require additional information beyond the general application and uploaded transcript. Be sure to read the description for these to make sure you meet the eligibility requirements before submitting the additional information that is being requested.

The Department level scholarships are:

Seidler Scholarship

The Department of Philosophy presents The William J. Seidler Scholarship to one outstanding philosophy major at the end of each fall semester. To be considered for this scholarship, majors must have at least one more semester in residence at UWM, have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 in Philosophy courses, documented financial need, and have not previously won the scholarship. The award ceremony takes place on study day in December.

Eligible students must fill out (or update) their profile in the UWM scholarship portal between October 1 and October 10 each year.

Peltz Memorial Award

The Peltz Memorial Award for Excellence in Philosophy is awarded annually for the best philosophy essay. Any student, undergraduate or graduate, major or non-major, may submit a paper. All are encouraged to do so. Papers submitted for philosophy courses are acceptable. No paper may exceed 25 pages. Information is available in the department office in CRT 612 or by calling 229-4719. The next deadline will be in early April. The award ceremony takes place on study day in May.