History students reimagine 1890s for Streets of Old Milwaukee opening

History Department students and faculty helped the Milwaukee Public Museum launch the renovated Streets of Old Milwaukee exhibit with a live-tweeting event that brings to life one of Milwaukee’s most defining events: the Third Ward Fire in 1892.

Alumna Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham awarded the National Humanities Medal

History Department alumna Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham received the National Humanities Medal from President Barack Obama.

Laura Godden (2011) archivist at Murphy Library, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Laura Godden, MA 2011, has been an archivist in the Special Collections and Area Research Center at Murphy Library, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the past three years.

Monica Drake Pierce, named Director of the Lake Wales Depot Museum

Monica Drake Pierce, a recent MA graduate, has become Director of the Lake Wales Depot Museum in Florida.

History hosts international conference

Thursday, June 18 2015 - Saturday, June 20 2015

The Department and the College of Letters and Science hosted Attending to Early Modern Women June 18-20, an international interdisciplinary conference of scholars interested in women, gender, and sexuality in the early modern period, held every three years. This year’s conference theme was “It’s About Time,” and participants examined memory, life-writing, women’s and men’s experiences of time, legacies, the life-cycle, and metaphors of time, among other topics.

Kevin Kolesari publishes paper

Kevin Kolesari, a recent graduate, published an article that began as a research paper written in the department’s History 600 capstone course,

Dawson Barrett (PhD 2013) book tour

Dawson Barrett (PhD 2013), will be on tour this summer promoting his new book, Teenage Rebels: Stories of Successful High School Activists from the Little Rock 9 to the Class of Tomorrow.

UWM / MPM Museum Studies Program exhibit opens

Hue Knew? An Exploration of Color, an exhibit by 13 graduate students in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee/MPM Museum Studies Program, went on display at the Milwaukee Public Museum in May.

Prof. Bud Weare Scholarship Fund established

An anonymous donor has established the Professor Bud Weare Scholarship Fund in honor of Emeritus Professor Bud Weare, “who inspired the Donor during the Donor’s time as a UWM student.”

Phi Alpha Theta Induction 2015

The Delta Phi chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society, inducted eight new members at a ceremony and reception on Friday, April 10.