Michael Gonzales receives A. T. Brown Award for Best Graduate Thesis

A.T. Brown Award for Best Graduate Thesis in 2014-15 Michael Gonzales, for his M.A. thesis, “Ruffians and Revolutionaries: The Development of the Young Lords Organization in Chicago” (M.A. thesis, supervised by Amanda Seligman, submitted May 2015) Michael Gonzales’s thesis traces… Read More

Hayley McNeill receives A.T. Brown Award for Best Graduate Research Paper

Hayley McNeill, for her paper “’Keep it Bright, Treat it Right’: The West Bend Aluminum Company and Manufacturing American Values, Stainless Steel Cookware, and Government Defense Products, 1941-1961”

Phil Deeken receives Victor Greene Award for Best Undergraduate Paper

Victor Greene Award for the Best Undergraduate Research Paper in 2014-15: Philip Deeken, for his paper “The Case of Loving v. Virginia: Robert D. McIlwaine’s ‘Footnote to History’”

Paul Geszvain and Samantha Machalik receive Ellen Healy Award

This award is given for general merit to a currently-enrolled History M.A. or Ph.D. student, with preference for one who has not received any other award, including a Teaching Assistantship or Research Assistantship

History students reimagine 1890s for Streets of Old Milwaukee opening

History Department students and faculty helped the Milwaukee Public Museum launch the renovated Streets of Old Milwaukee exhibit with a live-tweeting event that brings to life one of Milwaukee’s most defining events: the Third Ward Fire in 1892.