2020 Department Awards Announced

Every year, the History Department’s Awards Committee has the pleasure to review the records and accomplishments of the many undergraduate and graduate students who are such a vital presence in the department. It is with great pleasure that the Committee announces the winners of this year’s awards.  Congratulations to all the recipients!

Undergraduate Student Awards

  • Ahmad Family Scholarship: Paul Newcomb, to a meritorious declared History major, preference for student who started at UWM as a freshman.
  • T. Brown Award for History Undergraduates: Nadia Tabit, to a meritorious declared History major.
  • David Hoeveler Merit Scholarship: Stephen Drena, to a meritorious declared History major of at least junior standing. In addition, current holder Lucy Harperis renewed for a second year of support.

Graduate Student Awards

  • David and Diane Buck Dissertation Fellowship: Samuel Cocar, to assist in research and writing of a dissertation.
  • Frederick I. Olson Scholarship: Keziah Bland, to a meritorious graduate student, Wisconsin resident.
  • Theodore Saloutos Award for PhD Dissertation Research in American History: Patrick Hall.

In this difficult period for our students, staff, and the university, we are especially thankful to those who have endowed these awards to support our students.