Wallace Pyawasit

Scholar, Teacher and Community Leader

Wallace Pyawasit, Menominee Tribe, is remembered for his sensitivity, kindness, humor, cultural knowledge, and the ability to bring a spirit of peace to those around him. He worked to preserve American Indian Language, as well as contributing to other American Indian causes.

Since 1989, the UWM’s American Indian Student Services, American Indian Student Association, and American Indian Studies have recognized an individual from within the Milwaukee Indian community with the Wallace Pyawasit Leadership Award. The award is presented to community members who have demonstrated an unfailing commitment to American Indian causes through leadership, generosity of spirit, and ability to approach community problems with wisdom, foresight, and a positive attitude.Wallace Pyawasit in audience

Wallace Pyawasit Community Leadership Award

Past Recipients

1989 Brenda Doxtator (Oneida)
1990 Donna Beckstrom (White Earth Chippewa)
1991 Shayne Davids (Stockbridge-Munsee)
1992 Jim Warren (White Earth Chippewa)
1993 Jackie Schellinger (Stockbridge-Munsee)
1994 Marcella Jones (Choctaw)
1995 Carol Sample (Turtle Mountain Chippewa)
1996 Roy Huff (Oneida)
1997 JoAnn Ninham (Oneida)
1998 Sandi Cornelius (Oneida)
1999 Mindemoye (Oneida)
2000 Vernon Martin (Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa)
2001 Ruth Pemma (Forrest County Potawatomi)
2002 Patsy Delgado (Stockbridge-Munsee)
2003 Huston Wheelock (Oneida)
2004 Mary “Lola” Hepp (Stockbridge-Munsee)
2005 Maseline Albring (Ottawa)
2006 Del Porter (White Earth Chippewa)
2007 Charlene Smith (Oneida)
2008 Joyce Ninham (Oneida)
2009 Richanda Kaquatosh (Menominee)
2010 Elizabeth Sullivan (Ojibwe)
2011 Delia Maisells (Ho-Chunk Nation)
2012 Deb Ushakow (Oneida)
Roger Thomas (Bad River Ojibwe)
2013 Greg Johns (Oneida)
2014 Roberta Doxtator (Oneida)
2015 Jack Kaquatosh (Menominee)
2016 Richard L. Awonohopay “Waubano” (Menominee)
2017 Andrew “Andy” Connors (Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa)
2018 No recipient
2019 Judy Dordel (Oneida)
2020 No recipient
2021 No recipient
2022 Please consider making a nomination!

Nominations for this award are accepted throughout the year with a selection made by the committee each April. Please fill out the form below to submit a nomination!

Wallace Pyawasit Community Leadership Award Nomination Form

Please enter information about who you would like to nominate for the Wallace Pyawasit Community
Leadership Award.

Name of the person you are nominating(Required)

What is the address of the person you are nominating?(Required)

Your Name(Required)

Your Address(Required)