×
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

First Steps to Starting a Business

Get the information and skills you need to open a business.

During a fast-paced, three-hour course, you will:

  • Assess the feasibility of your business idea
  • Identify the risks and rewards of starting your business
  • Receive tools to calculate start-up costs
  • Learn important marketing strategies
  • Explore legal considerations
  • Understand the value and content of a business plan
  • Identify financial resources

Bring your questions, discuss concerns and network with other entrepreneurs. Start working on your business in class and leave with a wealth of information and resources.

The next step is the Entrepreneur Training Program, where you can take all of your pre-planning and apply it to writing your business plan.

Benefits and Learning Outcomes

  • Identify where you will need extra assistance and resources to help you
  • Understand what it takes to become an entrepreneur, and decide whether it’s the right path for you
  • Receive an overview of elements in a business plan and how you can begin working on your own

Course Outline/Topics

  • Readiness Assessment
  • Product/Service Offering
  • Startup Cost Assessment
  • List Competitors
  • Resources for permits/requirements
  • Additional outlets for support

Testimonials

"The class gave us a real sense of direction and the encouragement we need to get started."  —  Donna & Dan Romani

"A great way to get a brief yet detailed overview all while being in a comfortable non-intimidating environment!"  —  Lindsee Ollman

All sessions are Face-to-Face unless otherwise noted.

Wed., Sept. 21

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 25

Program Number: 5125-8475

Registration Deadline: Wed., Sept. 21

Register Now

Wed., Oct. 19

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 25

Program Number: 5125-8476

Registration Deadline: Wed., Oct. 19

Register Now

Wed., Nov. 16

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 25

Program Number: 5125-8486

Registration Deadline: Wed., Nov. 16

Register Now

Wed., Dec. 7

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 25

Program Number: 5125-8485

Registration Deadline: Wed., Dec. 7

Register Now

Wed., Jan. 18, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9672

Registration Deadline: Tue., Jan. 17, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Feb. 15, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9673

Registration Deadline: Tue., Feb. 14, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Mar. 15, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9674

Registration Deadline: Tue., Mar. 14, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Apr. 19, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9675

Registration Deadline: Tue., Apr. 18, 2017

Register Now

Wed., May 17, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9676

Registration Deadline: Tue., May 16, 2017

Register Now

Wed., June 14, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9677

Registration Deadline: Tue., June 13, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Aug. 16, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9689

Registration Deadline: Tue., Aug. 15, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Oct. 18, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9678

Registration Deadline: Tue., Oct. 17, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Nov. 8, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9679

Registration Deadline: Tue., Nov. 7, 2017

Register Now

Wed., Dec. 13, 2017

6-9pm

Location: UWM School of Continuing Education

Instructor: TBA

Fee: $29

Enrollment Limit: 20

Program Number: 5125-9680

Registration Deadline: Tue., Dec. 12, 2017

Register Now