New Graduate Student Virtual Orientation 2021

ngso_logo

The UWM Graduate School will host their New Graduate Student Orientation on Thursday, August 26th, 2021. The event will be hosted virtually from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Orientation is designed to serve as a general overview of topics related to graduate student life at UWM.

The Graduate School’s orientation is different from any new graduate student orientation that may be offered by your academic program. Please check with your department for program-specific information.

Register before 1:00pm (CDT) on Thursday, August 26 to receive your link to the event.

New Graduate Student Orientation Agenda

  • 1:00pm – 2:00pm: Main Presentation – Welcome to Graduate School
    • Welcome – Chancellor Mark Mone
    • Welcome – Johannes Britz, Provost & Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs
    • Welcome & Keys to Success – Jason Puskar, Dean of the Graduate School
  • Campus Resources
    • Michelle Schoenecker, Office of Sponsored Programs
    • Carrie Fleider, Director, University Counseling Services
    • Khrys Fu’Qua, Director of Graduate Diversity & Inclusion
  • 2:00pm – 2:45pm: Alumni/current grad student panel – Shane Haensgen (moderator)
  • 2:45pm – 3:15pm: Technology Q&As – Therese Bohn (presenter) & Cassie McMurphy (Moderator)
  • 3:15pm – 3:30pm: What are Assistantships and what are Fellowships? – Erin C. Fox (presenter)
  • 3:30pm – 4:00pm: Financial aid Q&As – Cynthia Reindl (presenter)
  • 4:00pm: Orientation concludes
  • Please check out our Graduate Resource page for all resources on campus that are here to support you during your graduate education experience! Graduate School and Campus Resources


    New Graduate Student Virtual Orientation Registration 2021


    Other graduate student orientations

    Aside from the Graduate School’s New Graduate Student Orientation, the following orientations are specifically for students that are admitted to the listed program or department. Please contact the program or department for more details.

    Graduate Program Orientations Fall 2021     
    ProgramDateTimeFormatLocationLinkContact
    ArchitectureWednesday, August 254:00-5:00 PMFace-to-FaceAUP 110N/AKyle Reynolds (reynol54@uwm.edu), Tammy Taylor (ttaylor@uwm.edu)
    Art History OrientationThursday, August 199:00 AM-12:00 PMFace-to-FaceMitchell Hall, Room TBAN/ARichard Leson (leson@uwm.edu), Ina Kielley (ikielley@uwm.edu)
    Art History Orientation Teaching Assistant (TA) Orientation & Training (TAs ONLY)Thursday, August 191:00-3:00 PMFace-to-FaceMitchell Hall, Room TBAN/ARichard Leson (leson@uwm.edu), Ina Kielley (ikielley@uwm.edu)
    Certificate in Chamber MusicThursday, August 269:00-11:00 AMFace-to-FaceMusic 320N/ATim Noonan (tpnoonan@uwm.edu)
    Chemistry and BiochemistryMonday, August 16 - Thursday, September 29:00 AM-5:00 PMFace-to-FaceChemistry Building, Room TBAN/AElise Nicks (elise@uwm.edu), Nick Silvaggi (silvaggi@uwm.edu)
    College of Nursing Graduate Orientation  (DNP, MSP, MN, and PhD Students)Thrusday, August 269:00 AM-4:30 PMFace-to-FaceCunningham Hall G40N/AJennifer Daood (daood@uwm.edu)
    Criminal Justice & CriminologyWedneday, September 81970-01-01 17:30:00Virtual (it will be recorded)N/ADanielle Dagenhardt (dmromain@uwm.edu)
    Cultural Foundations MSMonday, August 231970-01-01 18:00:00Face-to-Face & VirtualEnderis 546https://uwm-edu.zoom.us/j/83853602296Aaron Schultz (schutz@uwm.edu)
    English - Teaching First-Year WritingMonday, August 23 - Wednesday, August 258:30 AM-4:30 PMFace-to-FaceCurtin 368N/AShevaun Watson (watsonse@uwm.edu)
    Thursday, August 26 -Friday, August 278:30 AM-4:30 PMVirtual N/AShevaun Watson (watsonse@uwm.edu)
    Monday, August 30 - Wednesday, September 18:30 AM-4:30 PMFace-to-FaceCurtin 368N/AShevaun Watson (watsonse@uwm.edu)
    French Teaching Assistant (TA) OrientationWednesday, Augst 25, Friday, August, 27, & Tuesday, August 31Anita Alkhas (alkhas@uwm.edu)
    History Meet & GreetFriday, August 271:00-3:00 PMFace-to-FaceHolton Hall 341N/AJoe Austin (jaustin@uwm.edu)
    History Teaching Assistant (TA) Orientation (TAs only)Friday, August 279:00 AM-12:00 PMFace-to-FaceHolton Hall 341N/AJoe Austin (jaustin@uwm.edu)
    Information Science & Technology (MSIST) - OrientationSaturday, August 28Face-to-FaceTBAhttps://uwm.edu/informationstudies/event/graduate-orientation-fall-2021/Toby Deutsch (deutsch@uwm.edu)
    Information Science & Technology (MSIST) - Professional Immersion DayFriday, August 2712:30-4:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAhttps://uwm.edu/informationstudies/event/professional-immersion-day-fall-2021/Toby Deutsch (deutsch@uwm.edu)
    Kinesiology MS & PhDTuesday, August 248:30-9:30 AMVirtualN/AJinsung Wang (wang34@uwm.edu)
    Kinesiology MS & PhD Teaching Assistant (TA) Orientation Tuesday, August 2410:00-11:00 AMVirtualN/AJinsung Wang (wang34@uwm.edu)
    Language, Literature & Translation (MALLT)Tuesday, August 241970-01-01 16:00:00Face-to-FaceCurtin 766, OutsideN/ASarah Davis Cordova (cordovas@uwm.edu)
    Library & Information Science (MLIS) - OrientationSaturday, August 289:00 AM-3:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAhttps://uwm.edu/informationstudies/event/graduate-orientation-fall-2021/Toby Deutsch (deutsch@uwm.edu)
    Library & Information Science (MLIS) - Professional Immersion DayFriday, August 2712:30-4:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAhttps://uwm.edu/informationstudies/event/professional-immersion-day-fall-2021/Toby Deutsch (deutsch@uwm.edu)
    Linguistics MA & TESOL, Applied Linguisitics MAThursday, August 26 10:00 -11:00 AMVirtualN/AMicrosoft TEAMS (TBD)Hanyong Park (park27@uwm.edu)
    Linguistics PhDThursday, August 26 10:30AM - 11:30AMVirtualN/AMicrosoft TEAMS (TBD)Hanyong Park (park27@uwm.edu)
    Lubar PhD Student OrientationTuesday, August 243:30-4:30 PMFace-to-FaceLubar S341 or N120N/AJames Hardy (jhardy@uwm.edu)
    Lubar Teaching Assisstant (TA) OrientationTuesday, August 241:00-3:30 PMFace-to-FaceLubar S341 or N120N/AJames Hardy (jhardy@uwm.edu)
    Mathematical SciencesTuesday, August 26 - Tuesday, August 31TBAFace-to-FaceEnginnering & Math Science (EMS), 4th FloorN/AKatie Wehrheim (wehrheik@uwm.edu)
    Music MM Thursday, August 26 9:00-11:00 AMFace-to-FaceMusic 320N/ATim Noonan (tpnoonan@uwm.edu)
    PhilosophyTBATBAVirtualTBATBAMiren Boehm (boehmm@uwm.edu), Natachia Attewell (attewell@uwm.edu)
    PhysicsTBATBATBATBATBAKate Valerius (katev@uwm.edu)
    Political ScienceWednesday, August 251:00-5:00 PMFace-to-Face6th Floor Bolton Conference RoomN/AParu Shah (shahp@uwm.edu)
    PyschologyTuesday, August 241:00-2:30 PMVirtualN/AMicrosoft TEAMSHanjoo Lee (leehj@uwm.edu)
    Public and Nonprofit Administration Friday, August 271970-01-01 16:00:00VirtualN/ADouglas Ihrke (dihrke@uwm.edu)
    Sociology MA & PhDWednesday, August 2510:00 AM-3:15 PMVirtualN/AMicrosoft TEAMSJohn Roberts (jmrob@uwm.edu), Sarah Weidner (sarahw@uwm.edu)
    SOIS PhD Program in Information StudiesTuesday August 24 & Wednesday, August 259:00 AM-4:30 PMFace-to-FaceNWQB, Room TBAN/ALaura Meyer (lauram@uwm.edu), Dietmar Wolfram (dwolfram@uwm.edu)
    Spanish Teaching Assistant (TA) OrientationTuesday August 249:00 AM-3:30 PM Face-to-FaceTBAN/AAllison Libbey (libbey@uwm.edu)
    Wednesday, August 259:00 AM-2:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAN/AAllison Libbey (libbey@uwm.edu)
    Friday, August 2710:00 AM-3:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAN/AAllison Libbey (libbey@uwm.edu)
    Monday, August 309:00 AM-12:00 PMFace-to-FaceTBAN/AAllison Libbey (libbey@uwm.edu)
    Translation & Interpreting StudiesFriday, August 271970-01-01 13:00:00VirtualN/AMicrosoft TEAMSLorena Terando (terando@uwm.edu)