February 25, 2022 – 2021 Business Writing Awards Ceremony

The 2021 Business Writing Award Ceremony will be on Friday, February 25th.
Congratulations to all the winners!

Outstanding Achievement: Liam Callanan

UWM English Professor Liam Callanan’s novel, Paris by the Book, was selected an outstanding book by an author with a Wisconsin connection by the Wisconsin Library Association Literary Awards Committee. Paris by the Book will be included on Outstanding Achievement lists that will be… Read More

2017 Spring Awards Ceremony

Please join us on May 11, 2017 at 3:30pm in Curtin Hall 368 for our English Department’s 2017 Spring Awards Ceremony! The ceremony recognizes the accomplishments and continued success of our graduate students and more.

The Wladyslaw Cleszynski Memorial Award Winners:

Michael Larson, Hay in Summer

Prose Runner Up:
Sherri Hoffman, Stained With Lime

Ae Hee Lee, An Astral Death

The Wladyslaw Cleszynski Fellowship:

Ann-Marie Blanchard
Ae Hee Lee
Soham Patel

Alice Gillam Award:

Storm Pilleff
Trevor Sprague

James A Sappenfield Fellowship

Thad Furman
Molly Ubbesen
Elisa Karbin
Alexander Rucka
Joni Hayward

Tinsley Holton Dissertation Fellowship

Danielle DeVasto, Negotiating Matters of Concern: Expertise, Uncertainty, and Agency in Rhetoric of Science

2016 Emmy Nomination for Richard Horowitz

Richard Horowitz, a UWM English Lecturer, has been nominated for a 2016 Chicago-Midwest Emmy by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The nomination is in recognition of Horowitz’s weekly commentaries for “InterCHANGE,” MPTV’s recently departed public-affairs show, in the “Outstanding Crafts Achievement for On-Camera Talent: Program Correspondent/Narrator/Performer” category.

This is Horowitz’s eighth Emmy nomination; he already owns two, which are currently keeping company on a bedroom shelf with a pair of softball trophies.

Congratulations, Richard, and best of luck on the night of the awards ceremony!

English Department Members to be Recognized at Fall Awards Ceremony

The English Department is delighted to share the good news that several of its members will be recognized at this year’s UWM FallAwards Ceremony, Wednesday, October 5 at 2pm in the Union’s Wisconsin Room.

Congratulations to all, and thanks to the members of the department who nominated many of these colleagues for recognition.

Sukanya Banerjee, Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Dylan Barth (Learning Technology Center and English Ph.D.), UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Performance and Service Award

Meg Noodin Office of Research / UWM Foundation Research Award

Casey O’Brien (Women’s and Gender Studies and English Ph.D.), UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Teaching Award

Deb Siebert Joanne Lazirko Award for Excellence in Teaching with Technology

2016 Spring Awards Ceremony

Please join us for the Spring 2016 Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 12,2016 from 3:30-5:00 in Curtin 368. The ceremony recognizes the accomplishments and continued success of our graduate students. It also gives us the opportunity to confer our new undergraduate scholarships and faculty teaching awards. Reception to follow.

Valerie Laken, Sukanya Banerjee, Brenda Cárdenas, and Liam Callanan Receive Faculty Teaching Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s faculty teaching awards. These colleagues were selected in recognition of their exceptional record of teaching as well as broader contributions to our department.  The members of the merit committee who reviewed teaching materials (A. Martin, Moulthrop, Puskar, Sangari, Schuster) would like to commend all of our colleagues for the strength and dedication that they so clearly bring to the classroom.  It was our pleasure to single out the particular accomplishments of these colleagues this year.  And we look forward to recognizing more of our colleagues as we continue this tradition in coming years.
These colleagues will be recognized at the Department’s Spring Awards Ceremony, Thursday, May 12, beginning at 3:30 in CRT 368.
Faculty Undergraduate Teaching Award:
Valerie Laken
Faculty Graduate Teaching Award:
Sukanya Banerjee
Brenda Cárdenas
Nomination for UWM Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2016-17:
Liam Callanan

Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen Receive Award for Teaching Excellence

Congratulations to Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter and Molly Ubbesen who were selected as recipients of Awards for Teaching Excellence. Individuals are considered for this honor on the basis of nominations from their peers. From this initial balloting, it was clear how much these instructors are held in esteem for their remarkable accomplishments in the classroom and longstanding contributions to our programs.
Award for Teaching Excellence, Academic Staff:
Jennifer Dworschack-Kinter
Award for Teaching Excellence, Graduate Teaching Assistant:
Molly Ubbesen
These awardees will be recognized at the Department’s Spring Awards Ceremony, Thursday, May 12, beginning at 3:30 in CRT 368.

Phi Beta Kappa English Inductees, 2016

Congratulations to our undergraduate students who have been selected for membership in Phi Beta Kappa.

Elizabeth Ahnen
Esme Barniskis
Jack Ceschin
Leha Froats
Spero Lomenzo
Chelsea Moskow
Collin Oswald
Keane Schmidt
Samantha Smrz
Emylie Tonnacliff
Deborah Torbica
Robert Trettin

Election to membership as a senior requires a minimum GPA of 3.6, while election as a junior requires a minimum GPA of 3.8. In addition, students selected for membership must have satisfied Phi Beta Kappa distribution requirements in language, mathematics, humanities, social and natural sciences.

Phi Beta Kappa is a highly prestigious national honor; membership is recognized by graduate programs and employers as a mark of excellence.

The initiation ceremony and reception will be held in the UWM Union’s Wisconsin Room on Wednesday, April 27 at 5 p.m. Please send an RSVP to if you plan to attend.

Business Writing Challenge Recognition Event

The ceremony is intended to honor the winners of the Spring 2014 and Fall 2014 Business Writing Challenge, which encourages and rewards excellence in Business Writing. Students are notified of the competition early in the semester and are encouraged to work toward achieving a nomination to participate by their instructor.

All participants receive a certificate of participation, and the winners receive cash prizes and copies of The Business Writer’s Handbook, courtesy of Prof. Emeritus Gerald Alred and Bedford/St. Martin’s Press. Support is also provided by anonymous donors, the English Department, and the UWM Foundation.

Please join us in celebration for the Professional Writing Program’s annual Business Writing Award Ceremony. The ceremony will recognize this year’s winners and participants. The speakers will be Prof. Emeritus Gerald Alred, Carolyn Washburne, and Mariann Maris.

The ceremony is on Friday, February 13, from 10:30 a.m. -11:30 p.m. at the Hefter Center and includes a brief program and refreshments.