A diverse group of students standing in front of a banner during a scholarship awards ceremony.

Scholarships provide additional financial support for eligible students. Through the UWM Foundation and the generosity and vision of friends, alumni and faculty, the Helen Bader School of Social Welfare has established scholarships for the benefit of its students.

The Helen Bader School of Social Welfare Conditional Application for the 2024-2025 academic year closed on February 1, 2024. Award notifications have been sent to students.

The next opportunity to apply for scholarships will be from November 1, 2024, to February 1, 2025.

*Please Note: ROTC Scholarships are separate from HBSSW and have different deadlines. 

Undergraduate Students

Undergraduate students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 (including transfer credits). 

Most (but not all) scholarships through the Helen Bader School of Social Welfare are offered based on financial need. To be considered for need-based scholarships, you must have a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) on file for the 2024-2025 academic year. Students who are not eligible to complete a FAFSA may contact scholarship coordinator, Michaela Kaiser at kaisermr@uwm.edu, to talk about alternative options. 

All students who have applied and been accepted into UWM, and are in the Helen Bader School of Social Welfare, are welcome to apply. 

In addition, the Scholarship Committee, made up of faculty and staff from HBSSW, bases its decision on the strength of your academic career, the information listed in the job/volunteer experiences, and any unique or unusual circumstances in relation to the scholarship eligibility requirements.  

Graduate Students

Graduate students are eligible for Advanced Opportunity Program Fellowships, Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships and Graduate Student Travel Awards. To learn more, visit the Types of Funding page.

The Department of Social Work also offers additional funding opportunities for MSW students.

The Child and Family Scholars Program provides funding to eligible PhD students.