Meet Our Team

Musculoskeletal Injury Biomechanics Laboratory

Faculty

Stephen CobbStephen C. Cobb, PhD, ATC
Associate Professor

Enderis Hall 491
414-251-6638
cobbsc@uwm.edu

Dr. Cobb is interested in the pathoetiological factors and abnormal gait mechanics associated with the precipitating traumas, chronic ankle instability and ankle fracture, that lead to the development and progression of posttraumatic ankle and foot osteoarthritis.
Kris O'ConnorKristian O’Connor, PhD
Professor

Enderis Hall 471
414-251-5277
krisocon@uwm.edu

Dr. O’Connor’s primary research focus is on the biomechanics of musculoskeletal injury. The effects of fatigue may be central to understanding overuse running injuries, such as anterior knee pain and traumatic injuries, and anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) tears.

Students

Emily GerstleEmily Gerstle, MS
PhD Student
egerstle@uwm.edu
Advisor: Stephen C. Cobb

Wenqing WangWenqing Wang, B Ed
Graduate Student
wenqing@uwm.edu
Advisor: Jennifer Earl-Boehm

Alumni

Lauren BensonLauren Benson, PhD
PhD Health Sciences, 2016
MS Kinesiology, 2013

Advisor: Kristian O’Connor
Postdoctoral Fellow
Faculty of Kinesiology, University of Calgary
Rhiannon SeneliRhiannon Seneli, PhD, ATC
PhD Health Sciences, 2015
MS Kinesiology, 2011

Advisor: Stephen C. Cobb
Assistant Professor
St. Ambrose University
Davenport, IA
Phil OblakPhil Oblak, ATC, LAT
BS Athletic Training, 2013
Advisor: Jennifer Earl-Boehm
Athletic Trainer, University School of Milwaukee
Midwest Orthopedic Specialty Hospital
Milwaukee, WI
Josh WeinhandlJoshua T. Weinhandl, PhD
PhD Health Sciences, 2010
Advisor: Kristian O’Connor
Associate Professor
Department of Kinesiology, Recreation, and Sport Studies
University of Tennessee
Jennifer ThorpeJennifer L. Thorpe, MS, ATC, LAT, CSCS
BS Athletic Training, 2004
Advisor: Jennifer Earl-Boehm
Assistant Professor, Clinical Education Coordinator,
Athletic Trainer
Concordia University
Mequon, WI

Neuromuscular Control Laboratory

Faculty

Kevin KeenanKevin Keenan, PhD
Associate Professor

Enderis Hall 421
414-229-2336
keenan@uwm.edu

Dr. Keenan’s work is dedicated to understanding the interplay between motor function, physical activity and health. Experimental procedures used in the laboratory include high-density surface EMG arrays (up to 256 EMG recordings), long-term (>6 hrs) EMG recordings, indwelling EMG recordings, force sensors, motion capture and computational modeling.

Students

Brittany HeintzBrittany Heintz, MS
PhD Student
bheintz@uwm.edu
Advisor: Kevin Keenan

Brian Sauer
Undergraduate Student
bsauer@uwm.edu
Advisor: Kevin Keenan

Alumni

Geeta Betrabet
Geeta Betrabet, MS
MS Kinesiology, 2013
betrabet@uwm.edu

Human Motor Behavior Laboratory

Faculty

Jinsung WangJinsung Wang, PhD
Associate Professor
Enderis Hall 492
414-251-5834
wang34@uwm.edu
In his research, Dr. Wang attempts to delineate the neural mechanisms that underlie hemispheric lateralization for motor control and learning, which involves the issues of handedness, motor memory, and adaptation to novel sensorimotor conditions. He is also interested in investigating research topics that deal with neurorehabilitation, aging, concussion and neuromotor disorders.

Students

Reshma JamesReshma James
PhD Health Sciences Student
reshma@uwm.edu
Mousa JvaidialsaadiMousa Javidialsaadi
PhD Kinesiology Student
javidia2@uwm.edu
Maricruz Almanza
BS Kinesiology Student
malmanza@uwm.edu

Yeongsin JoYeongsin Jo
PhD Kinesiology Student
yjo@uwm.edu
Nastaran ZamaniNastaran Zamani
PhD Kinesiology Student
nastaran@uwm.edu

Alumni

Shancheng Bao
Shancheng Bao
PhD Kinesiology, 2019

Postdoctoral research fellow
Texas A&M University
Grant Tays
Grant Tays
MS Kinesiology, 2019
BS Kinesiology, 2017

PhD student
University of Florida, Gainesville
Katie Marek
Katie Marek
Doctor of Physical Therapy, 2016
BS Kinesiology, 2013

DPT
Mequon, WI
Yuming Lei
Yuming Lei, PhD
PhD Health Sciences, 2015

Assistant Professor
Texas A&M University
Khongchee Xiong
Khongchee Xiong
BS Kinesiology, 2012

Production Engineer
Cambrex Pharmaceuticals
Charles City, IA
Derek Allen, MS
MS Kinesiology, 2012
BS Kinesiology, 2010
Physical Therapy Aide
Freedom Physical Therapy Services
Milwaukee, WI

Emeritus Faculty

Barbara Hart, PhD
Professor Emeritus
hart@uwm.edu